The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 28, 2004, 12:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,643
I know we have went over things like this before, but I'll ask anyways. I had this come up a few days ago. So, R1, 2 out, 2 strikes. Batter swings at low pitch that is not caught by catcher. F2 picks up ball and is looking to tag B1, but B1 is already about 15 feet away walking towards the 3rd base dugout. So I look at R1 and he is crossing the mound on his way to the dugout. I know when to call the BR out, but how far do you let R1 go before you call him out for abandonment?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 28, 2004, 12:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Northern California
Posts: 477
Send a message via AIM to nickrego
Only worry about abandonment by the batter and call him out at the appropriate time.

Don’t worry about abandonment by the runner. He has not done anything against the rules. But watch to see if he is tagged before you call out the batter. If so, he is the third out.
__________________
Have Great Games !

Nick
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 28, 2004, 08:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,737
Quote:
Originally posted by LDUB
I know we have went over things like this before, but I'll ask anyways. I had this come up a few days ago. So, R1, 2 out, 2 strikes. Batter swings at low pitch that is not caught by catcher. F2 picks up ball and is looking to tag B1, but B1 is already about 15 feet away walking towards the 3rd base dugout. So I look at R1 and he is crossing the mound on his way to the dugout. I know when to call the BR out, but how far do you let R1 go before you call him out for abandonment?
According to the rule book (OBR), call it when it's "obvious".

According to Evans, it's not obvious until he crosses the foul line or gets to the dugout (depending on the which runner and whic dugout), iirc.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 28, 2004, 10:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Northern California
Posts: 477
Send a message via AIM to nickrego
I was assuming the Batter would reach the dugout before the Runner would reach the dugout (1st base side) or the foul line (3rd base side).

Maybe that is not a good assumption !
__________________
Have Great Games !

Nick
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1