![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
-Josh |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
I agree, the safe sign seems weak here however, in OBR if you felt that the runner abandoned the bag, he is out. Period, end of discussion, that is the rule and bottom line we HTBT otherwise.
I certainly hope we don't get into a discussion of how far EXACTLY this play happened from the bag or dugout. "Officials judgement" call here. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
![]() I'm interpreting (although perhaps incorrectly) the runner is liable of being put out if he:
Am I off base with what 8-2-7 is saying? I think this rule nips in the butt the runner hanging out behind second for an unnecessary amount of time after overrunning first. -Josh |
|
|||
|
I think the attempt to advance mainly applies to an overthrow on a play attempt at 1B. Runner thinks he can make it to 2B...then thinks twice and retreats to 1B...he is liable to be tagged out. J/R says that 1 step (or more) toward 2B qualifies at a Feint or attempt to advance.
If he's heading back to the dugout in OBR, he's out. A little more hairy for FED...esp with the courtesy runner issue. Could be the crappy end of the stick...
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
|
In OBR, I am not going to signal anything on the tag. BR touched 1B so why would there be a tag? It is not an appeal.
Once I deem him far enough for abandonment, I will make the out call. No call on the tag, out call on the abandonment. And, if he goes to 1B before I call him out for abandonment, then no call still.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is" |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
That is a debatable question.
What does immediately mean to you? As soon as he stops his momentum? Halfway to his dugout? In his dugout? Is it situational? Since it just says "immediately", it is left up to interpretation at that point. For me, I would go with him being several steps beyond 1B on his way back to his dugout. But, I would also consider the situation. If I have the winning run on 3B, 2 outs and I know calling an out for abandonment after reaching the next base is a timing issue, I am not calling the abandonment out until R3 crosses so his run counts. I will give more leeway in this situation just to end the game and prevent extra innings. I may get flack for this but I will be the one going home when that run crosses.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is" |
|
|||
|
That's just it...this is pretty much umpire judgement other than at home plate where in OBR they give the hitter the "circle" and/or must make an immediate attempt to run to 1B when he's legally able to run to 1B. This is the type of call where we make the big bucks and the 1B coach is basically worthless and then they blame the umpire(s) for calling him out for abandonment.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
|
Quote:
*For all of you that didn't catch that, I was being sarcastic in the first two sentences*-Josh |
|
|||
|
A runner not "immediately" returning to 1st after attaining 1st is an appealable play (7.10c). If the BR is obviously heading toward his dugout, I will recognize the tag and bang him out. Similar situation where BR passes 1st and stops to remove all of his batting gear. If he or the base is tagged, he is out on appeal.
Quote:
Last edited by UmpTTS43; Wed Jul 29, 2009 at 11:18am. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Base abandonment? | legend | Baseball | 7 | Mon Jun 04, 2007 01:56pm |
| D3K/ abandonment of base | Little Jimmy | Softball | 5 | Thu Apr 21, 2005 01:56pm |
| Base Running and Abandonment | teacherspit | Baseball | 10 | Thu Jul 22, 2004 12:15am |
| Abandonment | LDUB | Baseball | 3 | Mon Jun 28, 2004 10:59am |
| End of Game Abandonment | TBBlue | Baseball | 14 | Fri Jun 04, 2004 02:26pm |