![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Yes, but For HS Ball
Men,
Frankly, we all know that most of us have people in our area who do not take the game as seriously as we do. For some people, I would recommend carrying a book with them, or as the FED Umpire manual says, to have one easily available. For most of us, we would never tolerate someone bringing out the book to try and correct us, it may well be an ejectable offense. But I woulkd rather have somebody get the call right by having a rule book with them to refer to than messing things up. Of course, having said that we need to also admit that coaches should never carry a rule book with them to a game, live hand grenades in the dugout can always blow a coaches hand off or worse, get him ejected.....
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
p.s. Be thankful that he doesn't make you look like a horse's a$$. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I understand the point that some would think it's showing up the umpire, and depending upon the demeanor of the coach there are times when I might think the same, and that there are better ways to get the point across. However, the act itself of bringing the book out in and of itself cannot be an ejectable offense because the coach does have the right to state his case regarding a rule interpretation. The only reason I say that is because there are umpires who would absolutely refuse to believe a coach was right and he was wrong unless the rule book was in their face. If the important thing is to make sure the correct call is made, then at some point in time either the umpire acknowledges the coach is right and corrects the call if in fact that is the case, or he says no, and the coach decides to protest the game. If you're the umpire what would you rather do, get the call right, or trust your luck on a protest? Personally, I've never been shown the rule book at a game, and I would probably not like it. But on the other hand, refusing to acknowledge the book presented by a coach amounts to showing him up, and that is certainly not the intention either, and I can't justifiably toss him because of it. There are many ways to address the issue, some a lot better than others, plus it can get out of hand. My point was not to suggest something argumentative, but to just suggest that absent any misconduct on the part of the coach, bringing out the book cannot result in an ejection and nothing more. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Bringing the rule book onto the field to show an umpire is in itself misconduct enough to be ejected. If the Head Coach wants to talk about a rule that he thinks I may have mis-applied, he is more than welcome to come out and talk to me about it. If his argument is persuasive enough, I may decide to go check the rule. If you let him bring the book out and stick it in your face, he is basically telling everyone in the place that you don't know the rules. Once he does this, be prepared for the other coach to come out waving the rule book next time you have a whacker at first. DON'T LET THEM DO IT! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
I stand by my original assertion. I'm sure that if you checked with other, senior, members of the association, they'd say the same thing. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If a coach comes out waving or showing the rulebook, he's showing you up and inciting the fans and his team. In my game, he's gone. Like Bob said, if he has questions about something strange like the NCAA DH rule, I might entertain showing him my sheet cheat.
__________________
GB |
|
|||
|
Help me out with this,
I am trying to envision this in my mind and do it myself, and I just cant seem to get it done. Can someone explain step by step a smooth and continuous move & step & throw to first base, while breaking the back plane with the "free knee". In trying this, I notice that when the knee goes back toward "2nd" breaking the plane, you have to turn at the hips, and the step to first is a sideways step with the toes pointing more toward second than first. I have never seen this done, does someone have a link or something to look at and see this move being done the right way?? |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| He told them, "No!" | tomegun | Basketball | 36 | Tue May 02, 2006 03:12pm |
| No one has ever told me this before... | tmp44 | Baseball | 13 | Sun Apr 02, 2006 10:14pm |
| I get to say "I told ya so!" | BktBallRef | Basketball | 7 | Mon Sep 30, 2002 10:23am |
| It just wasn't Her night! | Gulf Coast Blue | Softball | 1 | Fri Apr 26, 2002 08:02am |
| Please I really need an answer to my question on the inbounds pass...I was told it | janes14 | Basketball | 2 | Sun Mar 03, 2002 11:19pm |