View Single Post
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 13, 2007, 09:27pm
SanDiegoSteve SanDiegoSteve is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Evans says "break the plane" too:

On the "trick 3rd to 1st" move used by the righthander, the umpire should be especially alert for two criteria:

(1) the pitcher may not break the back plane of the rubber with his free foot before attempting the feint to 3rd; and

(2) in his feint to 3rd, he must break contact from the rubber with his pivot foot.

Breaking the plane would be a balk in violation of 8.01(a) and failure to break contact would be a balk in violation of 8.01(c)...not a direct step from the rubber ("while touching his plate").
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote