The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 26, 2004, 11:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally posted by Carl Childress
Here's the relevant MLBUM ruling to the play in question:

The umpire will initially award R1 home (two bases from his position at the time of the throw). But if the runner retouches first, the award becomes two bases from the time of the pitch. If after the ball becomes dead the runner touches third before returning to first, he is subject to appeal.

==========

I still have a few questions not answered yet.
In the above explanation, does it specify if the runner has left early on the pitch (hit and run) or just left early after the ball is batted? Does it matter? I understand Carl's explanation of this but I don't recall ruling differently in each case. Maybe that's the whole point , there are now two different ways to rule depending.
Also, the last sentence is contrary to OBR in that R1 is retouching 1B when he has reached 3B after the ball has become dead. How is this allowed? Also, isn't R1 subject to appeal no matter which base he now occupies (except 1B of course)? I guess I'm not sure why they need to state that R1 is subject to appeal here (of course he is, right?).
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1