View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 06, 2005, 04:59am
cowbyfan1 cowbyfan1 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 842
Send a message via AIM to cowbyfan1 Send a message via Yahoo to cowbyfan1
Quote:
Originally posted by Carl Childress
Quote:
Originally posted by cowbyfan1
I have one question about all this. Is there not a rule that says if the runner is beyond a base from the original base, that he cannot go back and retouch the original base if the ball goes dead? Is this an exception to the rule?

What about FED (8-2-5)? If due to 8-2-5 he cannot go back and touch first, do you award home in that case? Or give him third? What if he heads back to first anyways, retouches it and then goes to third, do you ignore the retouch because of 8-2-5?
You're right about FED, but the thread, which I began, dealt only with the difference between OBR 7.06(i) CMT 2 and MLBUM 5.10.

In OBR, for a runner to be in peril of an out on appeal, he must advance to and touch a succeeding base AFTER the ball goes dead.

R1 leaves early and is between second and third when the ball goes dead. If he returns to first, he'll get third, no appeal. If he continues and touches third, he is out on appeal.

That's NOT the rule in FED, as you pointed out.
OK then how would this be handled per my questions with Fed?
__________________
Jim

Need an out, get an out. Need a run, balk it in.
Reply With Quote