Quote:
Originally posted by Rich Ives
I don't buy the MLBUM interp as "new law."
I think the award of third only was "practical law" and, as Carl points out, probably the best way to manage such a situation.
The actual law though, does say two bases from the time of the throw, so, problematic as it is, it probably is a more accurate interpretation.
|
PBUC (formerly NAPBL) 3.11 Example 2 has been the published "law" on the play in question, for OBR, since long before the MLBUM ruling was authored. The MLBUM ruling very clearly contradicts PBUC 3.11 Example 2, and therefore constitutes "new law."