Carl,
Isn't it a coincidince that this same play you guys are discussing is actually #15 on the 2005 NCAA Rules Test..
15. R1 is running with the pitcher's first movement to the plate. The pitch is subsequently hit to the outfield and caught for out number one. The centerfielder's throw sails into dead ball territory, as he tries to double-up R1 at first, who is between second and third when F8 releases the ball. (WHICH OF THE FOLLOWING ARE TRUE?)
____ The runner is awarded home.
____ Since the next base had already been touched, the runner may not go back and retouch first base.
____ The runner must retouch second before proceeding back to first.
____ If the runner is attempting to return to first base, allow him the opportunity to retouch.
____ The runner is awarded third base.
____ If the runner from first does not attempt to go back to first base and the defense initiates a legal appeal, R1 may be called out.
|