The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 25, 2004, 11:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Remember, a manager has to think "overall" as he is half offense/half defense.

I think only awarding 3B is equivalent to having the umpires announce that there is a retouch rquirement, thus an appeal opportunity. As the rules require the defense to recognize and make an appeal, this is contrary to the spirit of the rules. Therefore the initial award of home is proper.

I also think that the runner should still forfeit his opportunity to go back if he touches the next base after the ball goes into DBT. However, the MLBUM ruling is silent as to this play, so it doesn't directly address the situation. It needs to be asked.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1