![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I'll leave it to the LL experts on whether a fake tag requires an award. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
|
Fake tag = obstruction, per LL rule. Since this is Type 1 obstruction (obstruction with a play), the minimum award is 1 base beyond the last one legally occupied. The runner should have scored.
|
|
|||
|
So this came up again this weekend (Little League rules). We had runners at 2B and 3B, pitcher uncorks a wild pitch, runner from 3B scores easy and the ball is not secured yet from catcher my runner takes a turn, and 3B fake tags him without ball.
Would he of scored? No Was I going to send him? Likely not Our umpire in chief who is a good ump and seems to know the rules and said to me "I appreciate you knowing the rule, but since he was not going to score without the obstruction, I cant give him home" I then asked, if he was ball faked can I just send him home and if he gets thrown out because of obstruction would he be awarded the base or returned to 3b? He said No, if deemed that obstruction didnt cause him to be out, he would be called out. Which I was always under the belief that obstruction that occurs on the player the play is being made upon is awarded the base without judgement and the judgement comes more into obstruction made against runners who the play is not being made on? Help... |
|
|||
|
But if I just wheel him after the ball fake and with reasonable idea that he might make it because they still dont even have the ball (would be risky) but then arent they making a play on him at the plate?
I realize the gray area of "intentional" but to me, in that scenario we have all seen the 3B in the clouds standing on the base or wherever that is "in the way" and obstructing, but since the runner isnt going home - no biggie, but what if he were to intentionally grab his shirt? yes, he likely was not gonna score so thats OK? Fake tags are intentional obstruction to me honestly the same as grabbing and holding a guys shirt. Both of which I guess are fine so long as he was not gonna score anyway. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
And, if it's close at the plate, the runner might be awarded home -- but that's umpire judgment. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Sweep tags @ 1B on errant throws. | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 13 | Thu Jan 15, 2009 12:11am |
| Clarification - Tags | ahudgins21 | Baseball | 11 | Thu Jun 09, 2005 03:38pm |
| Personalized Car Tags | MORTGAGEUMP | Baseball | 19 | Fri May 06, 2005 09:07am |
| Fake Tags | dddunn3d | Baseball | 1 | Thu Mar 10, 2005 12:27pm |
| Fake to 3rd, Fake/Throw to 1st - No stop | JimSmith | Baseball | 3 | Tue Jun 17, 2003 12:52pm |