The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 09:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Robinson, IL
Posts: 266
Penalty for this or not?

This has been discussed somewhat in other threads.

I worked with a very good rules guy last night and we differed when discussign a hypothetical situation. Here goes.

A1 inbounding on a SPOT throw-in. B1 defending the thrower. A1 is well behind the line and releases the throw. B1 reaches through the plane after the ball is released and touches the pass (or grabs it).

I say there is no rule making this illegal. The rule speaks of a ball being passed outside the line to a teammate (not a spot throw-in) and reaching through BEFORE the ball is released. He was certain that this was a violation.

Can anyone answer with certainty?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the Penalty? varefump Volleyball 10 Tue Sep 11, 2007 03:05pm
What is the penalty? Dentonump Baseball 7 Fri Apr 13, 2007 02:50pm
Penalty? fan Football 3 Thu Oct 05, 2006 07:54am
Penalty? fan Football 6 Wed Sep 13, 2006 03:33pm
What is the penalty? DJ Basketball 21 Thu Feb 05, 2004 05:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1