The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 25, 2009, 12:45pm
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
Talking

Both 15.2.4.1 and 15.2.4.2 have been in the NCAA Rules Book since the 2003 season. I am sure that if the PTB had felt that 15.2.4.1 was superfluous, they would have removed it. For now, just accept it as it is, Grasshopper .
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 27, 2009, 07:55am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,709
I've held off on responding any further to this thread because I was trying to think through how the two separate rules might have different applications. But I can't come up with anything. Can anybody give me an example of a play where 15.2.4.1 applies but 15.2.4.2 doesn't apply? Maybe if I had a concrete play in mind, it would help me see the difference.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MCBear View Post
Scrapper, I wouldn't be thick-headed enough to assume that I know more than the USAV and NCAA rules writers.
I don't mind appearing thick-headed if it eventually helps to clarify or improve the rules. And anyway, somebody must assume that the rules writers don't have it quite right, or we'd never get any rule changes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MCBear View Post
I am sure that if the PTB had felt that 15.2.4.1 was superfluous, they would have removed it.
We'd all like to think that was true, but I wouldn't bet on it. Having worked with members of other national rules committees, I know that the people on those committees are not officials, by and large, and do not necessarily know all the rules or how their changes will affect other rules. Many times, they are good or highly visible coaches, but coaches don't always know the rules. (Although they're required to, by rule.)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 27, 2009, 08:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 785
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
I've held off on responding any further to this thread because I was trying to think through how the two separate rules might have different applications. But I can't come up with anything. Can anybody give me an example of a play where 15.2.4.1 applies but 15.2.4.2 doesn't apply? Maybe if I had a concrete play in mind, it would help me see the difference.
1. R4 jumps to tip a ball and the foot lands across, but over (above) the center line. S3's foot is 8 inches to the left of R4's penetrating foot. Foot is across the center line, but legally so, even though S3's foot is nearby, this would be a legal play.

2. Same as above, only the foot is now entirely beyond the center line, with S3's foot in the same proximity. Violation.

3. Same as 1, but with no S player nearby to present a safety hazard. Play on.

I would recommend that if you need further clarification, you contact Marcia Alterman directly, as she is very good at explaining the interpretations.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 27, 2009, 10:45am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by FMadera View Post
1. R4 jumps to tip a ball and the foot lands across, but over (above) the center line. S3's foot is 8 inches to the left of R4's penetrating foot. Foot is across the center line, but legally so, even though S3's foot is nearby, this would be a legal play.
It would also be legal if 15.2.4.1 were eliminated and only 15.2.4.2 were applied, would it not?

Quote:
2. Same as above, only the foot is now entirely beyond the center line, with S3's foot in the same proximity. Violation.
This would also be a violation if 15.2.4.1 were eliminated and only 15.2.4.2 were applied, would it not?

Quote:
3. Same as 1, but with no S player nearby to present a safety hazard. Play on.
This would also be legal if 15.2.4.1 were eliminated and only 15.2.4.2 were applied, would it not?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 27, 2009, 08:08pm
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
Thumbs up

Scrapper, both Felix and I have done our best to explain this, but you're just not getting it. Follow Felix's suggestion and contact Marcia Alterman (Marcia Alterman - NCAA Rules Interp <[email protected]>) for further clarification.
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 28, 2009, 08:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 785
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
It would also be legal if 15.2.4.1 were eliminated and only 15.2.4.2 were applied, would it not?

This would also be a violation if 15.2.4.1 were eliminated and only 15.2.4.2 were applied, would it not?

This would also be legal if 15.2.4.1 were eliminated and only 15.2.4.2 were applied, would it not?
Yes to all of the above. However, in example 1, were it the knee and not the foot, it would be illegal. Hence the difference, and the need for the two different rules.

I've explained this every which way. I'm done.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 02, 2009, 09:37am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by FMadera View Post
Yes to all of the above. However, in example 1, were it the knee and not the foot, it would be illegal. Hence the difference, and the need for the two different rules.
Ok!! This is what I was looking for! Thank you. Why does the knee make it different? In reading 15.2.4.2, it still seems ok, unless you're saying the knee makes it a safety concern?

I think that you guys think I'm being difficult for the sake of being difficult, but I'm really not. I'm just anal about the rules. I really want to know what makes the difference.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 02, 2009, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 785
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Ok!! This is what I was looking for! Thank you. Why does the knee make it different? In reading 15.2.4.2, it still seems ok, unless you're saying the knee makes it a safety concern?

I think that you guys think I'm being difficult for the sake of being difficult, but I'm really not. I'm just anal about the rules. I really want to know what makes the difference.
15.2.4.1 says the foot or hand can cross into the opponent's court without penalty if part of the extremity is on or above the line and there is no interference. They are the only body parts that can do this under this provision. If a knee, arm, etc., anything under than foot or hand crosses into the opponent's space, then refer to 15.2.4.2 A nearby player does NOT make the foot or hand illegal. This rule only applies if the hand or foot is touching or above the center line. If not, refer to 15.2.4.2.

15.2.4.2 says other body parts can cross ONLY IF safety concerns are not present. A nearby player WOULD make this illegal. A hand or foot entirely across the center line would be covered under this provision.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should Center Pause at Division Line? Freddy Basketball 6 Sun Nov 30, 2008 02:07pm
foot on center line... violation? dvtaylor Volleyball 8 Fri Sep 14, 2007 03:41pm
on line rules book muxbule Basketball 3 Thu Feb 15, 2007 12:59pm
Rules on hitter center? Dirk Football 49 Tue Oct 19, 2004 02:40am
ASA Rules on-line IRISHMAFIA Softball 9 Mon Jul 08, 2002 09:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1