View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 24, 2009, 12:50pm
FMadera FMadera is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 764
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Um...no.

I'm not sure you were reading it right.

If the hand or foot go beyond the center line (but are still in contact), there is no foul even if there is a player right next to the penetrating body part. However, there would be a violation if there were intereference (if a player were tripped, for example).

If it were any other body part beyond the center line, it is not illegal if there is a safety concern (such as a nearby player). If so, then it would be illegal.

No one is disregarding any safety concerns. Not sure how you got that.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote