The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 20, 2019, 07:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,039
Simultaneous Violation

(HS rules, if it matters)

When a team commits simultaneous violations, which signal do you use?

For example, a pass intended to the setter crosses the net. The back-row setter reaches across the net and contacts the ball at the same time as the blocker from Team B contacts the ball. It's B's point, of course. But, do you signal BRA? BRB? Over the net? Something else?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 20, 2019, 03:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Galesburg, IL
Posts: 52
I will take a crack at this specific example. By rule, it cannot be an attack as the ball has completely crossed the net. An attacker cannot attack a ball on the opponents side of the net so that rules out BRA. From there, it would depend on if I thought the back row player was attempting to "block" or "attack" the ball. If it was an attacking action, I would call reaching over. If it was a blocking action, I would call BRB.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 21, 2019, 07:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony.oe4 View Post
I will take a crack at this specific example. By rule, it cannot be an attack as the ball has completely crossed the net. An attacker cannot attack a ball on the opponents side of the net so that rules out BRA. From there, it would depend on if I thought the back row player was attempting to "block" or "attack" the ball. If it was an attacking action, I would call reaching over. If it was a blocking action, I would call BRB.
He's trying to "pull the ball back" as he would (in a legal play) if the ball were still in the plane of the net, or just barely on his own side.

I agree that BRA is not a valid choice here.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 21, 2019, 10:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 71
That sounds like over the net
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 21, 2019, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 596
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
It's reaching over. It would be that call whether or not the setter was front or back row.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lane Violation...Simultaneous? bas2456 Basketball 2 Tue Sep 29, 2015 05:35pm
FT Simultaneous Violation onetime1 Basketball 27 Mon Dec 09, 2013 09:04am
Simultaneous Violation gracealone919 Basketball 2 Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:36am
Simultaneous Violation and Foul grunewar Basketball 6 Fri Mar 06, 2009 10:54pm
Simultaneous Lane Violation? mplagrow Basketball 3 Mon Feb 03, 2003 10:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1