The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 15, 2015, 04:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 108
Charged Conference

NFHS Varsity girls. The coach of home team has used his 3 visits. On the fourth visit the coach is told he must replace F1. Can he/she switch F5 and F1 for 1 pitch and then bring the starting F1 back to pitch.

Found answer!!
Penalty: (ART. 1) After three charged conferences in a seven-inning game, or for any charged conference in excess of one in each extra inning, the pitcher shall be removed as pitcher for the duration of the game.

Last edited by benbret; Wed Apr 15, 2015 at 05:47pm. Reason: Found answer
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 15, 2015, 06:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by benbret View Post
NFHS Varsity girls. The coach of home team has used his 3 visits. On the fourth visit the coach is told he must replace F1. Can he/she switch F5 and F1 for 1 pitch and then bring the starting F1 back to pitch.

Found answer!!
Penalty: (ART. 1) After three charged conferences in a seven-inning game, or for any charged conference in excess of one in each extra inning, the pitcher shall be removed as pitcher for the duration of the game.
Glad we could help!
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 16, 2015, 06:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 758
This is a terribly written rule. They mirrored ASA, who botched it up tremendously when they changed it from one per inning. A sorry excuse to speed up the game left gaping holes in the rule.
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out.
No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk).
Realistic officiating does the sport good.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 16, 2015, 06:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by benbret View Post
NFHS Varsity girls. The coach of home team has used his 3 visits. On the fourth visit the coach is told he must replace F1. Can he/she switch F5 and F1 for 1 pitch and then bring the starting F1 back to pitch.

Found answer!!
Penalty: (ART. 1) After three charged conferences in a seven-inning game, or for any charged conference in excess of one in each extra inning, the pitcher shall be removed as pitcher for the duration of the game.
Sorry it took so much discussion and so long for us to reach a consensus on this one.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 16, 2015, 11:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by EsqUmp View Post
This is a terribly written rule. They mirrored ASA, who botched it up tremendously when they changed it from one per inning. A sorry excuse to speed up the game left gaping holes in the rule.
Please explain....
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 16, 2015, 12:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,465
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
Please explain....
Yeah, NFHS' has a bit of overkill to address different scenarios seemingly created by unnecessary "what if" scenarios. However, I'd like to hear what is so poor about the wording of ASA's. Seems pretty clear to me.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 16, 2015, 07:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,172
Quote:
Originally Posted by EsqUmp View Post
This is a terribly written rule. They mirrored ASA, who botched it up tremendously when they changed it from one per inning. A sorry excuse to speed up the game left gaping holes in the rule.
How is it different than PONY or others?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 17, 2015, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
How is it different than PONY or others?
'Cause it's the evil empire, don'tcha know!
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 17, 2015, 11:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 975
Here is a what if on the charged conference rule.

Team A has used 3 charged conferences early in the game. In the fifth inning the coach comes out to talk to the pitcher. After talking to the pitcher, the coach walks toward the dugout and tells S1 she is going in to pitch. She says this right as the umpire goes to approach the coach about it being a third charged conference.

Is this a third charged conference or not? (because of the timing of the change vs the conference?) Does F1 have the ability to return as pitcher? What about S1 if the team uses another charged conference later?

Last edited by chapmaja; Fri Apr 17, 2015 at 11:51am. Reason: corrected post
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 17, 2015, 11:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
Here is a what if on the charged conference rule.

Team A has used 2 charged conferences early in the game. In the fifth inning the coach comes out to talk to the pitcher. After talking to the pitcher, the coach walks toward the dugout and tells S1 she is going in to pitch. She says this right as the umpire goes to approach the coach about it being a third charged conference.

Is this a third charged conference or not? (because of the timing of the change vs the conference?) Does F1 have the ability to return as pitcher? What about S1 if the team uses another charged conference later?
So the easy part of your question, this is only the third conference so F1 has the ability to come back in regardless of whether it's charged. If the team uses another charged conference while S1 is the pitcher, then we have the penalty.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 17, 2015, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 975
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
So the easy part of your question, this is only the third conference so F1 has the ability to come back in regardless of whether it's charged. If the team uses another charged conference while S1 is the pitcher, then we have the penalty.
Helps if I write the question correctly? I meant to say they had used three (not two) earlier. I will edit the original post.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 17, 2015, 12:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,300
Nfhs and asa it is not a charged conference if the coach changes pitchers. There is no requirement the coach notify the umpire first there is going to be a pitching change.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 17, 2015, 01:03pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
Here is a what if on the charged conference rule.

Team A has used 3 charged conferences early in the game. In the fifth inning the coach comes out to talk to the pitcher. After talking to the pitcher, the coach walks toward the dugout and tells S1 she is going in to pitch. She says this right as the umpire goes to approach the coach about it being a third charged conference.

Is this a third charged conference or not? (because of the timing of the change vs the conference?) Does F1 have the ability to return as pitcher? What about S1 if the team uses another charged conference later?
No. You don't get two third conferences. This is a 4th charged conference, and as such you should have been out there almost immediately.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 17, 2015, 05:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,663
If coach has used all three of his conferences and asks for time to go out and talk to his pitcher, this is where you get involved immediately.

"Coach, this will be your fourth conference. If you go out, your pitcher is done as the pitcher."

If he acknowledges that, let him go and then get the change.
If he has lost track and decides not to take the conference, play ball.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 17, 2015, 08:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
If coach has used all three of his conferences and asks for time to go out and talk to his pitcher, this is where you get involved immediately.

"Coach, this will be your fourth conference. If you go out, your pitcher is done as the pitcher."

If he acknowledges that, let him go and then get the change.
If he has lost track and decides not to take the conference, play ball.
Now drifting into lineup card management, what is the best practice to mark the card when this happens? I keep a list on the back of the team's card with the conference type, inning and player numbers if I can get it.

Example from a recent game card:

Code:
Offcon 2 #4
OC 3 #15
OC 4 BR #33 + runners

Defcon 3 Team
DC 4 F1@circle
Should I just write #46 MAY NOT PITCH after the 4th conference?
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Charged Conference... w_sohl Baseball 7 Fri Apr 16, 2010 09:25am
Charged Conference Chess Ref Softball 5 Fri May 08, 2009 08:22am
When is a conference charged? skinner51 Baseball 51 Mon Apr 13, 2009 10:33am
charged conference Little Jimmy Softball 2 Wed Jul 21, 2004 04:10pm
Charged Conference? 5 sport ref Softball 18 Sun Apr 18, 2004 10:40am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1