The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 13, 2015, 01:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
...girl hits a double and as ss is crossing in front of her to go back to position the girl purposely runs into her trying to draw an obstruction call. However, time had already been called...
I'm confused... R runs into F6 (so she is apparently off the base), but TIME has been called?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 13, 2015, 01:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
I'm confused... R runs into F6 (so she is apparently off the base), but TIME has been called?
Sounds off to me, too.

We shouldn't have time unless the ball is in the circle and the runner is stopped on the base (sorry, Mike, I know you prefer the alternative); if the ball is in the circle and I don't have time, it's a LBR violation, not a smart play at all.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 13, 2015, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
I'm confused... R runs into F6 (so she is apparently off the base), but TIME has been called?
Camera was zoomed in on the runner, so have no idea where the ball was. Apparently not in the circle since the runner did attempt to advance. I know I know dont listen to the announcers but being as the video didnt show anything had to go by what they said. After going on about how good of base running it was and if obstruction had been called it would have been a free base, they said there was no call because time had been called on the field.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 13, 2015, 09:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
I'm confused... R runs into F6 (so she is apparently off the base), but TIME has been called?
The only thing I can think of is ground ruled double for some reason. I could see this on a fly up the gap that the runner has to hold up on in case it is caught. When she takes off she isn't looking to see the ball bounce over the fence. Thus when the contact had occurred the ball had already been declared dead, and thus the contact was nothing.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
video request Iowa/Wisconsin (Video) blindzebra Basketball 7 Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:58am
Wisconsin vs Iowa cmhjordan23 Basketball 34 Tue Jan 07, 2014 10:45pm
Wisconsin/PSU Rich Basketball 1 Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:22am
Iowa-Wisconsin - IW bisonlj Football 9 Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:21pm
Wisconsin LDUB Baseball 5 Sun Jul 25, 2004 10:59am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1