| 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by chapmaja  What is the opinion on this if we were talking high school rules? My personal opinion, since F5 chases R2 back towards second, she is making a play on the runner, therefore no problem. |  F2's throw itself has to be a play on the runner.  Read the definition of Play in the rule book.  It says, in part, "An attempt by a defensive player to retire a runner or a batter-runner."  F2 is not making a play by throwing to F5 here unless it's clear that R2 is running for third.
		 
				__________________"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
 |