The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2014, 07:44am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
F2 Throws to F5 to Hold R2

I worked an ASA-sanctioned Father's Day All Star tournament this past weekend. I noticed quite regularly this situation:

Runner on second (R2) took a pretty good lead after each pitch. When F2 would catch the pitch, she would stand up, look at R2 as R2 stood there, maybe even feint a throw to second, and then would throw the ball to F5 covering third base. F5 would then chase R2 back to second before throwing the ball to F1.

Would this be a situation where F2 is throwing to a base but not actually making a play on a runner? In almost every case, R2 never made any move toward third. She just stood there maybe 10-15 feet off second, baiting F2 to throw behind her so that she could take off for third.

Nobody complained about it, but I was curious. It seemed to be fairly routine tactic to address the situation.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2014, 08:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
I had this same thing happen to me last weekend, maybe two or three times. And the same thoughts you're having went through my head when I saw it.

I decided (to myself- no one was complaining about it) that with a live runner off the bag at second, the throw was a play on a runner.

But that was just my snap on-the-spot judgment. Not sure if I've ever seen this exact thing discussed in a case play, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2014, 08:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
6.7.B Exception doesn't restrict F2 to whom she must throw (if not to F1).

No different than F2 throwing to an in-close F4 when there's a 1st & 3rd situation...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2014, 09:18am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
6.7.B Exception doesn't restrict F2 to whom she must throw (if not to F1).

No different than F2 throwing to an in-close F4 when there's a 1st & 3rd situation...
But in that case, the throw is made toward second as R1 is headed there, and F4 cuts the throw off. That is easily justifiable as an attempt to make a play on R1.

And I'm a bit mystified by the ASA exception you mention. If there was a runner at first base, and F2 throws the ball to third, that would clearly be a violation under other rule sets (NFHS 6-3-2, NCAA 10.16, perhaps others) since there is no way in hell that can be construed as "a play on a base runner".

But the ASA exception doesn't say anything about a play on a runner. It just says as long as there is a runner on a base, the exception applies. Or does it? Is the intent of the wording to imply the throw is to make a play on that runner or not?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2014, 10:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
But in that case, the throw is made toward second as R1 is headed there, and F4 cuts the throw off. That is easily justifiable as an attempt to make a play on R1.

And I'm a bit mystified by the ASA exception you mention. If there was a runner at first base, and F2 throws the ball to third, that would clearly be a violation under other rule sets (NFHS 6-3-2, NCAA 10.16, perhaps others) since there is no way in hell that can be construed as "a play on a base runner".

But the ASA exception doesn't say anything about a play on a runner. It just says as long as there is a runner on a base, the exception applies. Or does it? Is the intent of the wording to imply the throw is to make a play on that runner or not?
The rule is not intended for what you're trying to do to it. It doesn't apply with runners on base. ASA doesn't care whether it's a play or not.

The rule prevents catchers from throwing around the horn on strikeouts or otherwise wasting time after a pitch with no one on base. That's all it's for.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2014, 11:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Actually MD, the rule itself (not the exception) does explicitly allow for throwing around the horn after a strikeout.

"The catcher shall return the ball directly to the pitcher after each pitch, except
after a strikeout,..."

(from the only online book I can find right now, the 2009 version-hope the wording hasn't changed)

And regarding Manny's comment, the exception doesn't mention a runner trying to steal (or getting a big lead), simply a runner on base.

Last edited by jmkupka; Tue Jun 17, 2014 at 11:47am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2014, 11:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
I worked an ASA-sanctioned Father's Day All Star tournament this past weekend. I noticed quite regularly this situation:

Runner on second (R2) took a pretty good lead after each pitch. When F2 would catch the pitch, she would stand up, look at R2 as R2 stood there, maybe even feint a throw to second, and then would throw the ball to F5 covering third base. F5 would then chase R2 back to second before throwing the ball to F1.

Would this be a situation where F2 is throwing to a base but not actually making a play on a runner? In almost every case, R2 never made any move toward third. She just stood there maybe 10-15 feet off second, baiting F2 to throw behind her so that she could take off for third.

Nobody complained about it, but I was curious. It seemed to be fairly routine tactic to address the situation.
What is the opinion on this if we were talking high school rules? My personal opinion, since F5 chases R2 back towards second, she is making a play on the runner, therefore no problem. Also, I think it helps to know the intent of the action by R2. She is likely hoping that F1 fires to F4 or F6 in an attempt to pick her off second, at which time she will break to third base attempting to steal 3rd. Its just one of those little games that get played between offense and defense, and is designed to catch a sleeping team sleeping.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 18, 2014, 08:08am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
What is the opinion on this if we were talking high school rules? My personal opinion, since F5 chases R2 back towards second, she is making a play on the runner, therefore no problem.
F2's throw itself has to be a play on the runner. Read the definition of Play in the rule book. It says, in part, "An attempt by a defensive player to retire a runner or a batter-runner." F2 is not making a play by throwing to F5 here unless it's clear that R2 is running for third.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 18, 2014, 09:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
F2's throw itself has to be a play on the runner. Read the definition of Play in the rule book. It says, in part, "An attempt by a defensive player to retire a runner or a batter-runner." F2 is not making a play by throwing to F5 here unless it's clear that R2 is running for third.
They're making as much of play on the runner here as they are when F2 throws to F3 on a base on balls, which Fed says is a play. NFHS can't have it both ways.
__________________
Tom

Last edited by Dakota; Wed Jun 18, 2014 at 09:48am.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2014, 08:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
F2's throw itself has to be a play on the runner. Read the definition of Play in the rule book. It says, in part, "An attempt by a defensive player to retire a runner or a batter-runner." F2 is not making a play by throwing to F5 here unless it's clear that R2 is running for third.
This is not what is taught. This throw is not against the rules.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2014, 12:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 870
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
F2's throw itself has to be a play on the runner. Read the definition of Play in the rule book. It says, in part, "An attempt by a defensive player to retire a runner or a batter-runner." F2 is not making a play by throwing to F5 here unless it's clear that R2 is running for third.
That throw could be a documented play in their play book; or even an invented play on the spot. Who knows what evil lurks....
__________________
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2014, 01:35pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcannizzo View Post
That throw could be a documented play in their play book; or even an invented play on the spot. Who knows what evil lurks....
A "documented play in their play book" may be quite different than the definition of play in the rule book.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hold on the defense yankeesfan Football 2 Mon Nov 05, 2007 08:14am
Throws his glove then throws ball to DBT BigGuy Baseball 10 Wed Apr 18, 2007 03:40pm
Hold.... fonzzy07 Basketball 9 Mon Feb 06, 2006 12:57pm
A hold is a hold... ljudge Football 13 Wed Sep 07, 2005 08:32am
Hold your spots!! ChuckElias Basketball 13 Wed Dec 11, 2002 05:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1