The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 10:57am
BigGuy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Throws his glove then throws ball to DBT

Here's another -
B1 hits gapper to LF. F7, frustrated because his team is losing, throws his glove at ball and actually stops it about 20' from the wall. BR is about halfway to 2B at this time. F7 Retrieves glove with ball and then proceeds to throw towards 3B just as BR touches 2B. Ruling and why.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 70
Dead ball. Put batter/runner on 3rd. Because that is the rule. 3 bases for batted ball touched by detached def. player equipment. Unless the batted ball was above the fence and the def. player tossed his glove above the fence to stop the ball from being a homerun. Then you give the batter runner his homerun.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 11:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Western Washington
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy
Here's another -
B1 hits gapper to LF. F7, frustrated because his team is losing, throws his glove at ball and actually stops it about 20' from the wall. BR is about halfway to 2B at this time. F7 Retrieves glove with ball and then proceeds to throw towards 3B just as BR touches 2B. Ruling and why.
Initial reaction is Delayed Dead ball on the detached equipment. The runner is protected on the batted ball to 3rd base (3 base award).

Now, the question comes into play, had the BR touched 2nd before the time of the throw or not. This will determine whether the runner stays at 3rd base (2 base award from time of throw if BR had not touched 2nd, 2nd and 3rd), or the BR is awarded Home. (2 base award from time of throw if BR had touched 2nd 3rd and home).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 11:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy
Here's another -
B1 hits gapper to LF. F7, frustrated because his team is losing, throws his glove at ball and actually stops it about 20' from the wall. BR is about halfway to 2B at this time. F7 Retrieves glove with ball and then proceeds to throw towards 3B just as BR touches 2B. Ruling and why.

OBR 7.05
Each runner including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out, advance --

(c) Three bases, if a fielder deliberately throws his glove at and touches a fair ball. The ball is in play and the batter may advance to home base at his peril.

FED 8-3-3b Three bases if a batted ball is touched by an illegal glove ir mitt, or detached player equipment which is thrown. tossed, kicked or held by a fielder, provided the ball when touched is on or over fair ground, or is a fair ball while on or over foul ground, or is over foul ground in a situation such that it might become a fair ball.

NCAA - Same as FED
8-2h; 8-3g

Last edited by Justme; Wed Apr 18, 2007 at 11:53am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 11:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by shickenbottom
Initial reaction is Delayed Dead ball on the detached equipment. The runner is protected on the batted ball to 3rd base (3 base award).

Now, the question comes into play, had the BR touched 2nd before the time of the throw or not. This will determine whether the runner stays at 3rd base (2 base award from time of throw if BR had not touched 2nd, 2nd and 3rd), or the BR is awarded Home. (2 base award from time of throw if BR had touched 2nd 3rd and home).

Yes... sorry missed the thrown into dead ball territory part. This actually makes it a pretty interesting question. Since the delayed dead ball situation allows play to continue, I would think that the runner is already awarded 3rd base, so the throw into dbt would give the runner home.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 11:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
Awards are not cumulative.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 12:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy
Here's another -
B1 hits gapper to LF. F7, frustrated because his team is losing, throws his glove at ball and actually stops it about 20' from the wall. BR is about halfway to 2B at this time. F7 Retrieves glove with ball and then proceeds to throw towards 3B just as BR touches 2B. Ruling and why.

BR is awarded home on the detached gear infraction. The infraction occured after he acquired 1st.


From the J/R; three bases beyond the base occupied at the time of the infraction (contact) on a batted ball,[7.05b,c]
__________________
"That's all I have to say about that."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 12:35pm
BigGuy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forest Ump
BR is awarded home on the detached gear infraction. The infraction occured after he acquired 1st.


From the J/R; three bases beyond the base occupied at the time of the infraction (contact) on a batted ball,[7.05b,c]
CORRECT based on FED - attached here

ART. 5... An award is from the base determined as follows:

a. If the award is the penalty for an infraction such as a balk, use of detached player equipment, or an illegal glove/mitt, the award is from the base occupied at the time of the infraction.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 02:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
BR is awarded third and everyone scores on the detached equipment.

Had the BR touched first before the ball was touched by the glove, he would score also.

If the BR was awarded only 3rd with the detached equipment penalty, and was on 2nd when the ball left the fielder's hand and went out of play, he would score.

Awards are not cumulative. Take the one that's most advantageous to the O.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 03:34pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,972
3 base award. period. the defense shouldn't be even thinking about throwing their equipment at a batted ball.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 03:40pm
BigGuy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72
BR is awarded third and everyone scores on the detached equipment.

Had the BR touched first before the ball was touched by the glove, he would score also.

If the BR was awarded only 3rd with the detached equipment penalty, and was on 2nd when the ball left the fielder's hand and went out of play, he would score.

Awards are not cumulative. Take the one that's most advantageous to the O.
The OP indicated the BR was halfway between 1B and 2B when the illegal touch occurred. Therefore awarding home was the correct call. From the OP

throws his glove at ball and actually stops it about 20' from the wall. BR is about halfway to 2B at this time
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Most free throws? Rock Chalk Basketball 31 Sat Mar 10, 2007 09:59am
Free throws???? Zoochy Basketball 2 Thu Nov 30, 2006 08:39am
Wrong team throws the ball in tnroundballref Basketball 9 Fri Sep 12, 2003 08:18am
"free" throws John Chladek Basketball 8 Wed Mar 05, 2003 12:55pm
free throws 49john Basketball 6 Sat Jan 18, 2003 09:02pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1