The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 16, 2013, 07:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
I kicked this one....

ASA, 16U, Association Championships, pretty mellow game.

Player grounds out to F5 to end the top of the 3rd inning.

The coach of the team that was just on defense comes out and says " The last out was the flex batting".

He was right, Flex batted as the number 10 spot in line up, DP was batting in the 5 spot.

The bottom line is he just wanted an out to start the next inning - since he had already gotten the third out of that inning.

I told him that wasn't going to happen -so he moved on. At this point the offending coach comes out and pulls the Flex from the game. So that's that.

At this point I realized I was at a loss as to what I SHOULD have done.

I've read an old thread (2007), went through the Rule Book, and have come up with this.

When I was told Flex had batted in the 10 spot, I should have DQ Flex for being Illegal Batter.

The batter in the second spot would lead off the next inning.

Does this sound correct ?
__________________
"I'll take you home" says Geoff Tate
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 16, 2013, 08:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Ref View Post
ASA, 16U, Association Championships, pretty mellow game.

Player grounds out to F5 to end the top of the 3rd inning.

The coach of the team that was just on defense comes out and says " The last out was the flex batting".

He was right, Flex batted as the number 10 spot in line up, DP was batting in the 5 spot.

The bottom line is he just wanted an out to start the next inning - since he had already gotten the third out of that inning.

I told him that wasn't going to happen -so he moved on. At this point the offending coach comes out and pulls the Flex from the game. So that's that.

At this point I realized I was at a loss as to what I SHOULD have done.

I've read an old thread (2007), went through the Rule Book, and have come up with this.

When I was told Flex had batted in the 10 spot, I should have DQ Flex for being Illegal Batter.

The batter in the second spot would lead off the next inning.

Does this sound correct ?
Yeppers
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 16, 2013, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
1) We have previously discussed whether this is an illegal batter or an unreported BOO for the DP. How is that determined?



2) Is there any rule set with a different ruling/result?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 16, 2013, 12:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
1) We have previously discussed whether this is an illegal batter or an unreported BOO for the DP. How is that determined?



2) Is there any rule set with a different ruling/result?
This is one of those where the rule defines what happened and the effect. 4-6.F(2) in ASA makes it an illegal player/illegal batter, 8.3.4.1.6 in ASA makes it an illegal player, NFHS 3-5-7-3 and 3-3-6-g make it an illegal substitute. We don't get to choose an alternate theory or explanation; it happened, the effect is what the rule says it is.

NFHS makes that person restricted; ASA and NCAA ejected. All else is the same effect.

IMO, the only way I have BOO instead is if the coach previously reported the FLEX playing offense for the DP, and the FLEX then batted in a different position.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 16, 2013, 08:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
or explanation; it happened, the effect is what the rule says it is.

NFHS makes that person restricted; ASA and NCAA ejected. All else is the same effect.
NCAA - ejected
ASA - disqualified
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
We kicked it. Did I do enough? referee99 Basketball 33 Sat Jan 30, 2010 02:49pm
kicked it once or twice? cdoug Basketball 3 Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:49pm
Kicked PAT Forksref Football 31 Sun Sep 13, 2009 01:36pm
Wonder if i kicked this one... bigblue68 Softball 5 Tue Mar 18, 2008 08:24am
I think I kicked it. Hartsy Basketball 20 Wed Dec 06, 2006 10:59am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1