The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 03, 2012, 11:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cupertino, CA
Posts: 62
When is courtesy runner legally in game?

Situation came up in yesterday's game, catcher singled, once play stopped coach called time and requested courtesy runner for the catcher. Number 8 came out and replaced catcher at first. PU (I'm the BU) announced to scorer that #8 is courtesy runner for the catcher. Just before the first pitch to the next batter coach calls time and announces he wants #5 to be the courtesy runner instead of #8. BU allows this. Between innings the other coach questions the replacement of the CR and PU now claims that both
#5 and #8 have entered the game and were not CRs. (He never called me over to confer and we are told by our association that the BU never joins a discussion with coaches unless asked). So now there is confusion as to who has entered the game, etc.

I believe that once a CR replaces a pitcher or catcher that CR cannot be then run for in that sequence unless injured. Correct me if I'm wrong there. In discussing this with another veteran umpire he said that the coach could replace the CR before the first pitch to the next batter. So, in a nutshell, when is a player legally in the game? When she is announced by the PU to the scorer or after the first pitch to the next batter?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 03, 2012, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
I believe it is going to depend on which rule set you were playing under. ASA doesnt mention it under courtesy runners other than they must be reported to the plate umpire, but under substitutions once reported to the plate umpire they are considered in the game.

As I recall, FED this year came out with a ruling that substitutes were not officially in the game until a pitch had been thrown.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 03, 2012, 11:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
NFHS 8-9-6
Quote:
ART. 6 . . . Once the courtesy runner is designated for that half-inning, the pitcher or catcher for whom she is running may not return to run while that courtesy runner is on base. A courtesy runner shall not run for a courtesy runner. When a legal substitute replaces a courtesy runner, the player for whom she was running has left the game.

A substitute can replace a CR, but she is replacing the pitcher or catcher for whom the CR is running.

When the PU announced that #8 was the courtesy runner, she was in the game. Sounds like #5 was never reported in the game. If so, she was an un-reported sub. Put her in the game and warn the coach. #5 can't come in for the CR, so when she came in the game, she was replacing the catcher as a substitute.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"

Last edited by MNBlue; Thu May 03, 2012 at 03:21pm. Reason: Edited to correct typo - changed #8 to #5 twice
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 03, 2012, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by drh898 View Post
Situation came up in yesterday's game, catcher singled, once play stopped coach called time and requested courtesy runner for the catcher. Number 8 came out and replaced catcher at first. PU (I'm the BU) announced to scorer that #8 is courtesy runner for the catcher. Just before the first pitch to the next batter coach calls time and announces he wants #5 to be the courtesy runner instead of #8. BU allows this. Between innings the other coach questions the replacement of the CR and PU now claims that both
#5 and #8 have entered the game and were not CRs. (He never called me over to confer and we are told by our association that the BU never joins a discussion with coaches unless asked). So now there is confusion as to who has entered the game, etc.

I believe that once a CR replaces a pitcher or catcher that CR cannot be then run for in that sequence unless injured. Correct me if I'm wrong there. In discussing this with another veteran umpire he said that the coach could replace the CR before the first pitch to the next batter. So, in a nutshell, when is a player legally in the game? When she is announced by the PU to the scorer or after the first pitch to the next batter?
BU allows this. You meant PU, right?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 03, 2012, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
I believe it is going to depend on which rule set you were playing under. ASA doesnt mention it under courtesy runners other than they must be reported to the plate umpire, but under substitutions once reported to the plate umpire they are considered in the game.

As I recall, FED this year came out with a ruling that substitutes were not officially in the game until a pitch had been thrown.
I would say that the CR is in the game once the CR is announced AND THEN once umpire accepts the change. If the umpire turned and announced #8 was a CR, then the change is accepted.

In every other case where there are changes to the line-up or runners, the book always says that it's once it's announced. I suspect this is nothing more than an oversight, as even the Senior Slow Pitch CR section says that it's when it's announced.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 03, 2012, 01:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 733
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
When a sub replaces the CR, the player that the CR is running for has left the game. So in this scenario, the catcher has left the game. She may re-enter if she has eligibility to do so. Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 03, 2012, 02:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 746
Quote:
Originally Posted by shipwreck View Post
When a sub replaces the CR, the player that the CR is running for has left the game. So in this scenario, the catcher has left the game. She may re-enter if she has eligibility to do so. Dave
+1. I think Mark said the same thing.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 03, 2012, 09:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cupertino, CA
Posts: 62
Yes, now that I read the rule, once #8 was "designated" (which I take to mean has been announced, noted and reported to the scorekeeper) #5 could then come in to run for #8, but, that means that we have a substitution for the catcher. #5 has just entered the game in place of the catcher.

I'm talking Fed, and the rule is 8.9.6 and case book 8.9.6 Situation F
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 08, 2012, 07:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by drh898 View Post
Situation came up in yesterday's game, catcher singled, once play stopped coach called time and requested courtesy runner for the catcher. Number 8 came out and replaced catcher at first. PU (I'm the BU) announced to scorer that #8 is courtesy runner for the catcher. Just before the first pitch to the next batter coach calls time and announces he wants #5 to be the courtesy runner instead of #8. BU allows this. Between innings the other coach questions the replacement of the CR and PU now claims that both
#5 and #8 have entered the game and were not CRs. (He never called me over to confer and we are told by our association that the BU never joins a discussion with coaches unless asked). So now there is confusion as to who has entered the game, etc.

I believe that once a CR replaces a pitcher or catcher that CR cannot be then run for in that sequence unless injured. Correct me if I'm wrong there. In discussing this with another veteran umpire he said that the coach could replace the CR before the first pitch to the next batter. So, in a nutshell, when is a player legally in the game? When she is announced by the PU to the scorer or after the first pitch to the next batter?
In ASA the sub/CR is officially in the game when reported to the PU. A CR may not run for a CR (illegal runner). PU should not have allowed the CR to run for a CR (Rule 8, Section 10) and talked to the coach to prevent this from happening. Number 5 could have substituted for #8 and the catcher would have left the game; she would be allowed to re-enter if she had not already done so one time.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
courtesy runner.... thumpferee Baseball 10 Sat Apr 05, 2008 09:55am
Pinch runner for a courtesy runner? jwwashburn Softball 17 Wed May 02, 2007 01:43pm
Courtesy runner benbret Softball 12 Thu May 11, 2006 12:25pm
NSA courtesy runner Little Jimmy Softball 4 Tue Jul 05, 2005 07:59am
Courtesy Runner pollywolly60 Softball 3 Wed Sep 03, 2003 10:47am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1