The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 03, 2011, 11:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 109
I found my rule cite.

I am looking at the NCAA rule book.

12.7.2.4 When the ball is in play and is overthrown (beyond the boundary
lines) or is blocked.
EFFECT—The ball is dead. Each runner is awarded two bases from
the last base legally touched when the ball left the fielder’s
hand. If two runners are between the same bases, the award
is based on the position of the lead runner.
Note: If a runner touches the next base and returns to her original base, the
original base she left is considered the last base touched for the purpose of
an overthrow award.


In the OP, she is awarded HP originally and is subject to be called out on appeal. However, if she decides she must tag and retouches 2B prior to the dead ball, she can retouch 1B. If she has not retouched 2B prior to the ball going OOP, she cannot return and retouch 1B. If she has retouched 2B and then retouches 1B, she is then awarded 3B.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
overthrow Bill Magley Softball 28 Fri Oct 24, 2008 07:27am
Overthrow Rule tzme415 Softball 22 Fri Jul 08, 2005 05:09pm
Overthrow SRW Softball 7 Mon Jul 04, 2005 08:36am
overthrow question mad Softball 2 Wed Jun 11, 2003 07:43am
ASA 10U Overthrow sprivitor Softball 7 Sun May 25, 2003 11:54pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1