The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 01, 2005, 12:24pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Just wanted to post this situation that happened to me last night in a co-ed slowpitch game, to make sure I called it right.

1 out, runners on 2B (R3) and 1B (R4). B5 hits a can of corn to F7 - B5 out. R4 forgot to tag, and runs to 2B. R3 tagged, and took off on the catch to 3B. The throw comes in to F6. The base coach is screaming at R4 to go back to 1B. R4 realizes what she did wrong, and busts back to 1B. F6 throws to F3, but F3 misses the throw, and the ball goes into Dead Ball territory past the fenceline. I signal dead ball. R4 then makes it back to 1B.

At the time of the throw, R3 was on 3B, and R4 was heading back to 1B.

My question: would B3's "last base touched from the time of the throw" be 1B or 2B? I took it to be 1B. If it was 2B, then I should have awarded B3 home...

I awarded R3 home, and R4 3B. I allowed R4 to complete her baserunning responsibilities by tagging up, then awarded 2 bases from 1B. Did I call it right?

__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 01, 2005, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,421
Yes, except for NSA or one of those tangents.

It's where the runner is at the time of the throw, regardless of direction or bases touched.



p.s. please edit the "B3" etc. to make it easier on the next reader.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 01, 2005, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,808
Assuming I fully understood your play, you ruled correctly. If R4 had left 2B and was between 1B and 2B at the time F6 threw the ball, then the two base award is 2nd and 3rd. If R4 was between 3B and 2B, then the two base award would be 3rd and home.

I repeat that understanding because it is possible to be "headed back to 1B" but still be located between 3B and 2B, or have just reached 2B on the return at the time of the throw.

Nothing else you stated is in issue; handled correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 01, 2005, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,560
Quote:
Originally posted by SRW
Just wanted to post this situation that happened to me last night in a co-ed slowpitch game, to make sure I called it right.

1 out, runners on 2B (R3) and 1B (R4). B5 hits a can of corn to F7 - B5 out. R4 forgot to tag, and runs to 2B. R3 tagged, and took off on the catch to 3B. The throw comes in to F6. The base coach is screaming at R4 to go back to 1B. R4 realizes what she did wrong, and busts back to 1B. F6 throws to F3, but F3 misses the throw, and the ball goes into Dead Ball territory past the fenceline. I signal dead ball. R4 then makes it back to 1B.

At the time of the throw, R3 was on 3B, and R4 was heading back to 1B.

My question: would B3's "last base touched from the time of the throw" be 1B or 2B? I took it to be 1B. If it was 2B, then I should have awarded B3 home...

I awarded R3 home, and R4 3B. I allowed R4 to complete her baserunning responsibilities by tagging up, then awarded 2 bases from 1B. Did I call it right?

Assuming the order of events is the same as you posted it, 3B. However, if not and F6 released the ball while R4 was still in contact with 2B, the award would be home.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 01, 2005, 12:57pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Talking POE # 38

I just read POE #38, and that makes it all clear now. I was pretty sure I had called the play correctly, now I am sure.

Thanks guys.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 01, 2005, 01:07pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Additionally:

After I awarded 3B and was thinking "should I award home?" the shortstop starts to argue with me that she should only be on second base. I looked at him funny and told him that it's 2 bases from the last base touched at the time of the throw, which is third base. He says "Well, yes she gets 2 bases - the one she's going to plus one." I just shook my head and told him to read the ASA book before playing ASA games...

__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 01, 2005, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,421
I bet Tom could come up with some ethereal engineering principle along the line that no matter where a runner is or which way they are running, the runner is always "going to" the next base.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 04, 2005, 08:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Talking

Hey, I'm an engineer, not a mystic!
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1