Quote:
Originally Posted by LIBlueASA
I don't know if I would call the look back violation as it seems as if an umpire error (batter runner going to first, then calling her back because her turn at bat is not over) has put the offensive team in jeopardy. .
|
Was it the umpire who sent the BR to first? Did the umpire announce 4 Balls?
Did the umpire send the runner back to first?
Quote:
Originally Posted by LIBlueASA
However, if that lead runner is going back and is tagged out, then I would call her out. She stole second base and was never told to go back, so her going back is her error. But if she goes all the way back to first with no play, then I'd say dumb move runner AND dumb move fielders.
|
Seems a contradiction to me... if you are absolving the runnner due to what you perceive as "umpire error" in the first situation, why would you leave her in jeapordy here? I don't see how you pick one and not the other.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LIBlueASA
This could have been avoided by the plate umpire being aware of the count and being proactive.
|
I don't disagree with that - As PU, I would clearly announce the 3-2 count when it became clear BR was heading to first.