View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 24, 2011, 12:29pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by txtrooper View Post
Dave, I would say it is a violation of the rules, as R1 has separated from the base.

It is not the umpire’s job to tip off the offense or defense to a play, the players and coaches have to also be in the game and know the game situation. Each of us announces the critical count, which were two ball and two strikes in the above situation. How can this situation be the umpire’s error? If the ball is live, you have to enforce the rules and not choose which calls you will make. If a LBR violation occurs, call it. If a tag is applied, call it. I would agree that when the umpires get together on the field to discuss a play would be a good time to suspend play.
Speaking ASA

When an umpire asks his partner for a count, both are performing "other duties" that draw their attention from the participants and the game. So, AFAIC, play was suspended, but what I think is irrelevant and completely up to the umpire's working the game.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote