View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 22, 2011, 05:30pm
shipwreck shipwreck is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 734
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
Look back rule clarification

Ok, I know this has been hashed out many times but I forget what the concensus was on this. NCAA rules, or probably most rulesets. Runner on first, 2-2 count on batter. Ball comes in for 3-2 count. Batter thinks it is ball 4 and starts to trot down to first. Runner on first then goes to second with the catcher throwing the ball back to the pitcher in the circle. Runners now standing on first and second. PU checks with me that it is 3-2 count and I verify it is. Batter goes back to home and girl on second takes 2 steps back toward first with ball controlled by the pitcher in the circle, not making a play on her. Is this in fact a look back violation? Dave
Reply With Quote