Quote:
Originally Posted by LIBlueASA
I would hope the umpire does NOT send her back to first. I'm referring to the error by the umpire in what the batter runner did. If the umpire were PROACTIVE in the first place, and did their job, then we wouldn't have had the mess in the first place. Now that we do, when the umpire says, "batter, it's 3 balls, two strikes. Come back to the plate." and both runners start retreating, I don't think it is in the spirit of the rule to call the look back violation on the runner retreating to first. However, if the defense makes a play on her, and tags her out, the out would stand.
Sorry if I wasn't clear in my first post.
|
As much as I agree that an umpire [I]should be[I] proactive in a situation like this (I also agree in announcing "Batter's out" when it becomes clear a (former) batter is running erroneously after a dropped 3rd strike), I do not believe that NOT being proactive constitutes a correctable umpire error.
Speaking of proactive - the even if it got to the point where batter was at first and R1 now was at second, the proactive thing to do would be to first call TIME - and then straighten things out.
PS: I still don't see the difference between the circle violation and getting tagged while off the base.