The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2006, 07:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA Area
Posts: 31
National Federation Rules.
I can't find the following play in the case book and would like some help.
Play:
A1 is fouled (non-shooting) and the table signals 2 shots due to the fact that B has committed it's 10th foul.
A1 shoots and misses the first free throw. The coach of team A calls time out before the second foul shot.
During the time out the table calls the official over and says they made a mistake and the last foul by B was only the ninth not the tenth!
The officials put the ball back in play using possession arrow.
Is this the correct procedure? I could not find this in the case book but it sounds like the correct thing to do .
__________________
Burtis449
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2006, 07:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,789
Since no unmerited FT was ever attempted in this situation it is technically not a correctable error and does not fall under 2-10. What this situation is is an official's mistake and the procedure that was followed is the correct one. Here is the case book play:

OFFICIALS PROVIDE ERRONEOUS INFORMATION
8.6.1 SITUATION: A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-one free-throw situation. The administering official steps in and erroneously informs players that two shots will be taken. A1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed shot is rebounded by: (a) B1, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; (b) A2, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; or (c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to secure the rebound. The officials recognize their error at this point. RULING: In (a) and (b), the official's error clearly put one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and didn't attempt to rebound). Play should be whistled dead immediately and resumed using the alternating-possession procedure. In (c), both teams made an attempt to rebound despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2006, 08:47am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,842
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Since no unmerited FT was ever attempted in this situation it is technically not a correctable error and does not fall under 2-10. What this situation is is an official's mistake and the procedure that was followed is the correct one. Here is the case book play:

OFFICIALS PROVIDE ERRONEOUS INFORMATION
8.6.1 SITUATION: A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-one free-throw situation. The administering official steps in and erroneously informs players that two shots will be taken. A1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed shot is rebounded by: (a) B1, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; (b) A2, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; or (c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to secure the rebound. The officials recognize their error at this point. RULING: In (a) and (b), the official's error clearly put one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and didn't attempt to rebound). Play should be whistled dead immediately and resumed using the alternating-possession procedure. In (c), both teams made an attempt to rebound despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue.

Are you saying that the officials are you to go to the AP Arrow to put the ball into play after the timeout?

I know that I would based on the Casebook Play that you quoted.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2006, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,789
Yep, neither team tried to rebound so they have to go to the arrow.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1