The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 19, 2011, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
How does considering the retouch square with the requirement to decide the award at the time of the obstruction?
This was my big question. ASA we aren't supposed to take into account post-obstruction evidence (as you are in some codes).
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 19, 2011, 03:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Hmmm.... people smarter than me telling me we were wrong. Must re-evaluate!

Here's what we did. By rule, when an obstructed runner is put out, we have a dead ball, so on the tag we killed the play. (Incidentally, no one was actually yelling "she left early" or anything like it - but it was (to me) obvious they were tagging her because she left early, despite any appeal language at all). Play dead on the tag, runner between the bases where she was obstructed, I felt we could not call her out (here's where I'm re-evaluating, and if someone could quote the exception Mike noted, I'd appreciate... no books at work right now), so I awarded home. Lucky for us, on the award of home, she simply went home. Defense appealed after she left the field and we rung her up then.

(So at least the result was right).

I'm finding sitch C to be interesting though. Say she made it back to 2nd and then tried to advance --- seems very odd that she'd have no protection between 2nd and 3rd, but be protected between 3rd and home.

PS to Steve, she was DEFINITELY aided in her return by the collision, both ending up closer to 3rd when the ball was caught and going forward MUCH slower when she realized she had to return. Not positive it's relevant, but to your point, it was true.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 19, 2011, 04:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
(here's where I'm re-evaluating, and if someone could quote the exception Mike noted, I'd appreciate... no books at work right now), so I awarded home.
An obstructed runner may not be called out between the two bases where obstructed
Exceptions:
...
e. leaving a base before a fly ball was first touched
8-5-1 (as of 2008)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 19, 2011, 04:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
...if someone could quote the exception Mike noted, I'd appreciate...
8-5-B-1. An obstructed runner may not be called out between the two bases
where obstructed
Exceptions:
d. missing a base
e. leaving a base before a fly ball was first touched
EFFECT d/e: The obstructed runner is out if properly appealed.

Mike said exception "d", but it is "e" in the 2009 book.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 19, 2011, 07:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
8-5-B-1. An obstructed runner may not be called out between the two bases
where obstructed
Exceptions:
d. missing a base
e. leaving a base before a fly ball was first touched
EFFECT d/e: The obstructed runner is out if properly appealed.

Mike said exception "d", but it is "e" in the 2009 book.
You are absolutely correct, it is "e"
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 19, 2011, 07:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
This was my big question. ASA we aren't supposed to take into account post-obstruction evidence (as you are in some codes).
Maybe, maybe not, depends on what you are talking about.

However, to add concerning other posts, what would have happened if the OBS not occurred? The runner would have scored and then, presumably, would have attempted to return and touch the plate, then 3B and then 2B. Then, if time permitted would attempt to again advance. Unfortunately, or fortunately for the runner, there is still the caveat that the OBS runner cannot be put out between the bases where OBS. If thrown out at home the second time around without being OBS, she obviously did not earn the score, but you cannot call the runner out, so the obvious default is 3B.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fed obstruction VS ASA "new" obstruction DaveASA/FED Softball 6 Thu Apr 29, 2004 03:27pm
obstruction scyguy Baseball 7 Wed Apr 21, 2004 09:11pm
NSA / Obstruction Bandit Softball 4 Mon Apr 19, 2004 02:26pm
Is it obstruction or not? JRSooner Baseball 2 Thu Apr 08, 2004 10:26pm
Obstruction or an out? Rachel Softball 6 Mon Apr 14, 2003 04:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1