Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder
A) Runner returns and is tagged between 3rd and home on her way back (this was our actual situation).
|
If this was a live ball appeal (and I guarantee you will or did hear someone (infielder

) screaming "she left early"), the runner is out. (8.5.B.1.EXC.d)
Quote:
B) Runner returns and is tagged between 2nd and 3rd on her way back.
|
Runner is out based on the live ball appeal and citation noted above.
Quote:
C) Runner returns to 2nd, the ball gets away, she tries to score and is tagged out short of the plate.
|
OBS runner tagged out between the bases where OBS. Dead ball. The cause for the out was NOT one of the exceptions noted. However, since there was not a second OBS after the retouch of the base left early and she did not reach home, the default to satisfy the OBS ruling would be place her on 3B.
Of course, it could be that someone else may have a different interpretation, but I'm going strictly by the rules as I read them from the book.