![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
At the time of the obstruction, you have two protections; between two bases, and base award to negate affect of the obstruction. You are thinking 1) between third and home, and 2) assumably home. BUT, when the ball is caught, you must consider that the ruling changes!! First, you add the exception; the obstruction, in all liklihood, actually ASSISTED the runner to return on the live ball appeal. So, the appeal, by rule, is an exception. And, realistically, how could you NOT reevaluate what would negate the result of the obstruction?? The running requirements are now substantially different. Instead of simply completing the run home, the runner must retrace to 2nd. The rules, as well as the circumstances, must be cause to reevaluate the award. Consider this. Just suppose the ball was caught an instant prior to the obstruction. Wouldn't you have to consider that the runner needs to return prior to any advance in determining the award? Then, why wouldn't you in this case (an instant after, presumably)? The situation changed; this isn't a "subsequent" play, really, it is the completion of THIS play. But, the protection between two bases doesn't disappear, either. The runner needs only to make it safely back to being between THOSE two bases without having violated any other baserunning rule to retain that protection. I have the same rulings and rationale as Mike in these cases.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Fed obstruction VS ASA "new" obstruction | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 6 | Thu Apr 29, 2004 03:27pm |
obstruction | scyguy | Baseball | 7 | Wed Apr 21, 2004 09:11pm |
NSA / Obstruction | Bandit | Softball | 4 | Mon Apr 19, 2004 02:26pm |
Is it obstruction or not? | JRSooner | Baseball | 2 | Thu Apr 08, 2004 10:26pm |
Obstruction or an out? | Rachel | Softball | 6 | Mon Apr 14, 2003 04:10pm |