The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 01, 2011, 10:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Potential for a big mess....

Situation:

HS V game - Bases loaded, 2 outs, 3-2 count on the batter. I am PU, pitch comes in just up and slightly inside, I call Ball 4, batter starts to swing, but stops. F2 asks me to go for help on the check swing, BU partner rings up the third strike for out number 3, inning over.

What got me thinking was what if this had happened with less than two out?
ie, ball 4, B/R heads to first, all other runners start advancing, then BU partner rings up the third strike....all the other runners are already off base and trotting toward the next base and would be easily picked off...do we let that play stand? I know what I would do, but would like to hear other opinions.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 01, 2011, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 318
How long of a delay before the catcher asked for you to go for help?

I think in this situation, the PU should go for help on his/her own immediately upon any check swing. Same thing as on a D3K/check swing situation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 01, 2011, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Got to ask, right or left handed batter? Right handed, she must have gone an awfully long way around to get rung up from C position.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 01, 2011, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to argodad
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
Situation:

HS V game - Bases loaded, 2 outs, 3-2 count on the batter. I am PU, pitch comes in just up and slightly inside, I call Ball 4, batter starts to swing, but stops. F2 asks me to go for help on the check swing, BU partner rings up the third strike for out number 3, inning over.

What got me thinking was what if this had happened with less than two out?
ie, ball 4, B/R heads to first, all other runners start advancing, then BU partner rings up the third strike....all the other runners are already off base and trotting toward the next base and would be easily picked off...do we let that play stand? I know what I would do, but would like to hear other opinions.
If I'm the BU in C, I'm going to answer NO and signal safe in the <2 outs situation. However, your partner didn't do that.

In the event the call resulted in an easy tag out of a runner who thought she was forced to advance as a result of the apparent walk, you could use 10.2.m to return runners to their previous bases. Your call of BALL was reversed by the BU, which put the runners in jeopardy.
__________________
Larry
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 01, 2011, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
Situation:

HS V game - Bases loaded, 2 outs, 3-2 count on the batter. I am PU, pitch comes in just up and slightly inside, I call Ball 4, batter starts to swing, but stops. F2 asks me to go for help on the check swing, BU partner rings up the third strike for out number 3, inning over.

What got me thinking was what if this had happened with less than two out?
ie, ball 4, B/R heads to first, all other runners start advancing, then BU partner rings up the third strike....all the other runners are already off base and trotting toward the next base and would be easily picked off...do we let that play stand? I know what I would do, but would like to hear other opinions.
All the "what ifs" and alternate scenarios aside, if the initial or subsequent call placed either team in jeopardy of making the proper play, I'm going to correct the count and move all runners to the base they would have been, IMO, had my call not been reversed.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 01, 2011, 01:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by argodad View Post
If I'm the BU in C, I'm going to answer NO and signal safe in the <2 outs situation. However, your partner didn't do that.

In the event the call resulted in an easy tag out of a runner who thought she was forced to advance as a result of the apparent walk, you could use 10.2.m to return runners to their previous bases. Your call of BALL was reversed by the BU, which put the runners in jeopardy.
I hear that comment a lot. But why would one make such a blanket situation? What if she swung?

I understand the burdon of proof may be very high to make that call from C, but to say one would never call a strike from C is, in my opinion, irresponsible.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 01, 2011, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to argodad
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie View Post
I hear that comment a lot. But why would one make such a blanket situation? What if she swung?

I understand the burdon of proof may be very high to make that call from C, but to say one would never call a strike from C is, in my opinion, irresponsible.
Robbie, I agree with you. But in the case of a delayed request with runners moving (or in the case in which it would become a dropped 3K) I'm going to lean strongly to a "no swing" call, especially from the C slot.

As an aside, I was watching a 2-ump NCAA game a couple of years ago when BU ruled a swing from C. The offensive coach questioned him, and he responded, "Coach, if she'd have made contact she would have hit it out of the park!"
__________________
Larry
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 01, 2011, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
Situation:

HS V game - Bases loaded, 2 outs, 3-2 count on the batter. I am PU, pitch comes in just up and slightly inside, I call Ball 4, batter starts to swing, but stops. F2 asks me to go for help on the check swing, BU partner rings up the third strike for out number 3, inning over.

What got me thinking was what if this had happened with less than two out?
ie, ball 4, B/R heads to first, all other runners start advancing, then BU partner rings up the third strike....all the other runners are already off base and trotting toward the next base and would be easily picked off...do we let that play stand? I know what I would do, but would like to hear other opinions.
Wading in to treacherous waters, in baseball, they have a rule noting that players maintain liability to be put out in this kind of situation. I prefer the fix it approach though.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 01, 2011, 04:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
All the "what ifs" and alternate scenarios aside, if the initial or subsequent call placed either team in jeopardy of making the proper play, I'm going to correct the count and move all runners to the base they would have been, IMO, had my call not been reversed.
So you're scoring a run and advancing the other runners?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 01, 2011, 04:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
Got to ask, right or left handed batter? Right handed, she must have gone an awfully long way around to get rung up from C position.

GOT to ask???
Why do you have to ask?????
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 01, 2011, 04:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by argodad View Post
In the event the call resulted in an easy tag out of a runner who thought she was forced to advance as a result of the apparent walk, you could use 10.2.m to return runners to their previous bases. Your call of BALL was reversed by the BU, which put the runners in jeopardy.

Exactly
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 01, 2011, 05:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by topper View Post
So you're scoring a run and advancing the other runners?
??
I'm putting the runners back.
Unless something unusaul happened would they otherwise have advanced?
And the way I read Irish's response, he would do the same.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 01, 2011, 05:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by topper View Post
So you're scoring a run and advancing the other runners?
I have no idea where you came up with that as I certainly didn't say that.

Of course, that would have been the reaction if the BU said "NO".
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 01, 2011, 05:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie View Post
I hear that comment a lot. But why would one make such a blanket situation? What if she swung?

I understand the burdon of proof may be very high to make that call from C, but to say one would never call a strike from C is, in my opinion, irresponsible.
Totally agree.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 01, 2011, 06:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Gulf Coast of TX to Destin Fl
Posts: 988
Quote:
Originally Posted by argodad View Post
If I'm the BU in C, I'm going to answer NO and signal safe in the <2 outs situation. However, your partner didn't do that.

In the event the call resulted in an easy tag out of a runner who thought she was forced to advance as a result of the apparent walk, you could use 10.2.m to return runners to their previous bases. Your call of BALL was reversed by the BU, which put the runners in jeopardy.
Bullcrap......you call what you see.

Joel
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Longer a Potential Blocker Ed Hickland Football 64 Sat May 25, 2013 03:29pm
NCAAM Throw-in, potential IW Rich Basketball 2 Sat Dec 11, 2010 10:58pm
Potential litigation? fullor30 Basketball 14 Sun Jan 17, 2010 02:30pm
Potential new official? 26 Year Gap Basketball 4 Tue Feb 05, 2008 06:11am
Another potential balk Nall23 Baseball 4 Wed Jun 04, 2003 02:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1