![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
R1 on 1st in the bottom of the 7th, 1 out, 3-1 count. I am U1 in 3 man crew. PU rules ball 4, and appeals swing to me. I have a swing (strike 2); in that space of time, R1 heads toward 2nd, believing she is forced, then half-heartedly returns, but is picked!! Not sure of proper mechanic at this point, but I ring out the pick. Offensive Head Coach (class act, mind you) comes out, not sure what to ask, but then wants the "Did she go?" appeal to be a dead ball. I say, no, it remains live, but agree to bring the (3 umpire) crew together to "check". In the huddle, I tell everyone what the coach asked, but I am declining, BUT add that I think we put the runner in jeopardy with the initial call and subsequent reversal. Crew agrees, I explain the revised ruling to the defensive coach (she also HAD to come out and ask, but also a class act); and we put the runner back with (now) 3-2 count, still 1 out. Miracle of miracles, everyone moved on, and the world didn't end!! Mechanics question to others; I felt I HAD to make the initial call, then not consider "jeopardy" unless someone else challenged. What say you? Could/should I have just refused to call the (apparent) out, like an obstruction ruling?
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
Quote:
You made the call that was correct and then fixed it! There is no need to lie about a call to attempt to avoid a crap storm. Joel |
|
|||
Not exactly the same, but closely related, I think.
Bases loaded, 1 out. B hits low line drive to F6 making a what looked like a shoe-string, snow cone catch. I am PU and rule CATCH. F6 throws to F4 to what would then be a double play retiring R2 before she can return to 2B. There was a question in my mind as to whether it was a catch or trap. I asked partner if he saw the ball touch the ground, to which he said yes. I fixed the call by awarding B 1B, and retiring R3 on the force out at 2B, awarding R2 3B, we now have 2 outs. DC questions the mechanic saying that my call put his team at a disadvantage, but understood when I said that my call put both teams at an equal disadvantage, albeit that a run scored and only one out was registered rather than an inning-ending double play. What say ye?
__________________
Tony |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
Perhaps a rule/mechanic change is in order here. If we killed the ball immediately if we were going to go out on a check swing appeal of ball 3 then we'd avoid a bunch of messes and only take away the dumb games around first base. |
|
|||
Quote:
Even with OBS, you really only "don't" call the out when it was the OBS runner and YOU were the one who raised the arm. Good call!
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
No Longer a Potential Blocker | Ed Hickland | Football | 64 | Sat May 25, 2013 03:29pm |
NCAAM Throw-in, potential IW | Rich | Basketball | 2 | Sat Dec 11, 2010 10:58pm |
Potential litigation? | fullor30 | Basketball | 14 | Sun Jan 17, 2010 02:30pm |
Potential new official? | 26 Year Gap | Basketball | 4 | Tue Feb 05, 2008 06:11am |
Another potential balk | Nall23 | Baseball | 4 | Wed Jun 04, 2003 02:21pm |