The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 08:36pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,741
NCAAM Throw-in, potential IW

A has a spot throw-in on B's endline.

A1 throws the ball in the direction of A2 standing near halfcourt. B1 deflects the pass that then hits A2 (in the frontcourt) and the ball rolls into the backcourt. A2 is the last to touch and first to touch.

I do not work a lot of NCAAM games. Two questions:

(1) Could someone tell me based on the above whether the ruling would be different in an NCAA game compared with an NFHS game?

(2) Let's say that the T called a backcourt violation the second the ball was touched (not possessed) in the backcourt by A2. In an NFHS game, this would be easy for me -- it's an IW, no team control on a throw-in, so we go to the arrow. What's the ruling in an NCAA game (clearly this is dependent on the answer to #1)?

I was the L administering the throw-in, BTW. I'll let you know what we had once I see some replies.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 10:25pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,445
1) Ruling would be the same. Although there is team control during the throw-in, there can't be a backcourt violation until after player control has been gained inbounds. NCAA 4-3.6.

2) If there's an inadvertent whistle before player control is gained after the throw-in ends, the ball would be given to the throw-in team for another throw-in team because there's team control during the throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 10:58pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,741
After I posted this, I looked through the book and came up with the same reference you cited. Thanks.

The T simply had a brain cramp. Great official, just brain cramp. He was so focused on the double deflection that he missed the fact that the ball was not possessed in the frontcourt. As the L who was chopping the clock, I was looking in that general direction and initiated a conversation with the T.

I also got the "team control on a throw-in" difference right in real time -- it's the coach who insisted we go to the arrow. The small college (juco) coaches seem to be more familiar with HS rules than college rules -- I replied with "in a HS game, yes, but there's team control on the throw-in under college rules." He told me that he thought I was wrong, but he could see he wasn't going to change my mind.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAAM mechanics fullor30 Basketball 8 Mon Nov 29, 2010 04:33pm
Potential litigation? fullor30 Basketball 14 Sun Jan 17, 2010 02:30pm
NFHS vs. NCAAM rules VTOfficial Basketball 3 Mon Mar 09, 2009 10:30am
basketball size for ncaaw & ncaam [email protected] Basketball 2 Wed Apr 05, 2006 12:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1