The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 12:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by shipwreck View Post
The question should have read, "A dead ball is called if an obstructed runner is tagged out prior to reaching the base that would have been reached had there not been obstruction" true or false? It shouldn't have made any reference to between the two bases they were obstructed between Dave
Actually, the OP question is true, yours is not always true due to the exception for an intervening play.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Actually, the OP question is true, yours is not always true due to the exception for an intervening play.
I think you have that backwards. There is no case where an intervening play can allow a runner to be out before reaching the protected base. There is a case where an intervening play can allow them to be out between the bases where the obstruction occurred.
________
Herbalaire Vaporizers

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:30pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
I think you have that backwards. There is no case where an intervening play can allow a runner to be out before reaching the protected base. There is a case where an intervening play can allow them to be out between the bases where the obstruction occurred.
My bad - I'll go get more coffee now...
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 20, 2010, 06:00pm
Tex Tex is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Posts: 156
Reading too much into the statement. The statement reads "A dead ball is called" . That is all there is. Statement does not asked what the call should be.

Remember "A dead ball is called".

Answer is True.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 22, 2010, 01:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
From my reading, the OP should be true.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS question 55 IHSAref Basketball 4 Tue Oct 31, 2006 09:22am
NFHS Question 24 MrRabbit Softball 15 Thu Mar 02, 2006 10:58pm
NFHS question oppool Softball 1 Fri Jan 21, 2005 05:37pm
Question #99 NFHS RookieDude Basketball 22 Thu Nov 11, 2004 01:04pm
NFHS QUESTION #40 AND #70 roadking Basketball 8 Mon Nov 08, 2004 02:02am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1