The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by RadioBlue View Post
Remember: an obstructed runner can NEVER be called out while between the bases where the runner was obstructed, even if you're only protecting her to the previous base. For instance, BR rounding 1st is obstructed by F3 and is tagged out while trying for 2nd base. You will rule a "dead ball" and return the BR to 1st.

As for the subsequent action play brought up earlier in this thread, if the obstructed runner has not reached any base in either direction, she is still between the bases which she was obstructed. Other playing action has no bearing on this fact. Once she touches the next and/or previous base, now she's lost that "between the bases" protection and is only granted protection to the base/bases she would have reached had their been no obstruction.
This is not how I understand it. If a runner is obstructed between 1st and 2nd, retreats to first and then goes to second they cannot be put out between those bases unless we have obstruction, interference or an intervening play. Similarly, if they were protected to second, reach second and think they need to tag up so they head back toward first, they are still protected unless we have one of those things.
________
HEADSHOPS

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:28pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 12:09pm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
This is not how I understand it. If a runner is obstructed between 1st and 2nd, retreats to first and then goes to second they cannot be put out between those bases unless we have obstruction, interference or an intervening play. Similarly, if they were protected to second, reach second and think they need to tag up so they head back toward first, they are still protected unless we have one of those things.
Under the Penalty portion to Rule 8-4-3(b) one of the exceptions states,
"When an obstructed runner, after the obstruction, safely obtains or returns to
the base she would have been awarded, in the umpire's judgment, had there
been no obstruction and there is a subsequent play on a different runner, the
obstructed runner is no longer protected between the bases where she was
obstructed and may be put out."


So, in your scenario, if the runner retreats to 1B and you were not protecting her to 2B, she's in jeapordy should she try to advance. Similarly, should she reach 2B and, for any reason, attempt to return to 1B, she is in jeapordy, as well.

You'll find what you're looking for on Pg. 62 of the 2010 Softball Rules book.

Hope that helps!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 01:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by RadioBlue View Post
Under the Penalty portion to Rule 8-4-3(b) one of the exceptions states,
"When an obstructed runner, after the obstruction, safely obtains or returns to
the base she would have been awarded, in the umpire's judgment, had there
been no obstruction and there is a subsequent play on a different runner, the
obstructed runner is no longer protected between the bases where she was
obstructed and may be put out."


So, in your scenario, if the runner retreats to 1B and you were not protecting her to 2B, she's in jeapordy should she try to advance. Similarly, should she reach 2B and, for any reason, attempt to return to 1B, she is in jeapordy, as well.

You'll find what you're looking for on Pg. 62 of the 2010 Softball Rules book.

Hope that helps!
I hope this helps you then :-). Notice the And. If a runner is protected to second and reaches second and then retreats she is still protected. Unless there has been a subsequent play on a DIFFERENT runner.
________
Asiansweetpussy

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:29pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 03:08pm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
I hope this helps you then :-). Notice the And. If a runner is protected to second and reaches second and then retreats she is still protected. Unless there has been a subsequent play on a DIFFERENT runner.
You know what? I think you're right. I don't know why, but I have misread and/or misinterpreted this for years. I stand corrected. Nice catch, YU!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS question 55 IHSAref Basketball 4 Tue Oct 31, 2006 09:22am
NFHS Question 24 MrRabbit Softball 15 Thu Mar 02, 2006 10:58pm
NFHS question oppool Softball 1 Fri Jan 21, 2005 05:37pm
Question #99 NFHS RookieDude Basketball 22 Thu Nov 11, 2004 01:04pm
NFHS QUESTION #40 AND #70 roadking Basketball 8 Mon Nov 08, 2004 02:02am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1