The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 17, 2010, 09:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 734
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
Quote:
Originally Posted by shipwreck View Post
49) A dead ball is called if an obstructed runner is tagged out between the two bases where the obstruction occurred.

A. True
B. False YOUR ANSWER
Reference: 8-4-3b Pen a

I will stick by my guns that I got this one correct. The question is misleading.

Here is that rule reference. a. If the obstructed runner is put out prior to reaching the base that would have been reached had there not been obstruction, a dead ball is called and the obstructed runner and each other runner affected by the obstruction will be awarded the base or bases which would have been reached, in the umpire's judgment, had there not been obstruction. An obstructed runner may not be called out between the two bases where she was obstructed.
The question should have read, "A dead ball is called if an obstructed runner is tagged out prior to reaching the base that would have been reached had there not been obstruction" true or false? It shouldn't have made any reference to between the two bases they were obstructed between Dave
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 17, 2010, 09:17pm
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
Quote:
Originally Posted by shipwreck View Post
The question should have read, "A dead ball is called if an obstructed runner is tagged out prior to reaching the base that would have been reached had there not been obstruction" true or false? It shouldn't have made any reference to between the two bases they were obstructed between Dave
Don't try and "overthink" those tests!

While you may consider it a misleading question, "A dead ball is called if an obstructed runner is tagged out between the two bases where the obstruction occurred" is a true statement.

and


"A dead ball is called if an obstructed runner is tagged out prior to reaching the base that would have been reached had there not been obstruction" Is also a true statement.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 11:06am
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by shipwreck View Post
The question should have read, "A dead ball is called if an obstructed runner is tagged out prior to reaching the base that would have been reached had there not been obstruction" true or false? It shouldn't have made any reference to between the two bases they were obstructed between Dave
Remember: an obstructed runner can NEVER be called out while between the bases where the runner was obstructed, even if you're only protecting her to the previous base. For instance, BR rounding 1st is obstructed by F3 and is tagged out while trying for 2nd base. You will rule a "dead ball" and return the BR to 1st.

As for the subsequent action play brought up earlier in this thread, if the obstructed runner has not reached any base in either direction, she is still between the bases which she was obstructed. Other playing action has no bearing on this fact. Once she touches the next and/or previous base, now she's lost that "between the bases" protection and is only granted protection to the base/bases she would have reached had their been no obstruction.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by RadioBlue View Post
Remember: an obstructed runner can NEVER be called out while between the bases where the runner was obstructed, even if you're only protecting her to the previous base. For instance, BR rounding 1st is obstructed by F3 and is tagged out while trying for 2nd base. You will rule a "dead ball" and return the BR to 1st.

As for the subsequent action play brought up earlier in this thread, if the obstructed runner has not reached any base in either direction, she is still between the bases which she was obstructed. Other playing action has no bearing on this fact. Once she touches the next and/or previous base, now she's lost that "between the bases" protection and is only granted protection to the base/bases she would have reached had their been no obstruction.
This is not how I understand it. If a runner is obstructed between 1st and 2nd, retreats to first and then goes to second they cannot be put out between those bases unless we have obstruction, interference or an intervening play. Similarly, if they were protected to second, reach second and think they need to tag up so they head back toward first, they are still protected unless we have one of those things.
________
HEADSHOPS

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:28pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 12:09pm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
This is not how I understand it. If a runner is obstructed between 1st and 2nd, retreats to first and then goes to second they cannot be put out between those bases unless we have obstruction, interference or an intervening play. Similarly, if they were protected to second, reach second and think they need to tag up so they head back toward first, they are still protected unless we have one of those things.
Under the Penalty portion to Rule 8-4-3(b) one of the exceptions states,
"When an obstructed runner, after the obstruction, safely obtains or returns to
the base she would have been awarded, in the umpire's judgment, had there
been no obstruction and there is a subsequent play on a different runner, the
obstructed runner is no longer protected between the bases where she was
obstructed and may be put out."


So, in your scenario, if the runner retreats to 1B and you were not protecting her to 2B, she's in jeapordy should she try to advance. Similarly, should she reach 2B and, for any reason, attempt to return to 1B, she is in jeapordy, as well.

You'll find what you're looking for on Pg. 62 of the 2010 Softball Rules book.

Hope that helps!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 01:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by RadioBlue View Post
Under the Penalty portion to Rule 8-4-3(b) one of the exceptions states,
"When an obstructed runner, after the obstruction, safely obtains or returns to
the base she would have been awarded, in the umpire's judgment, had there
been no obstruction and there is a subsequent play on a different runner, the
obstructed runner is no longer protected between the bases where she was
obstructed and may be put out."


So, in your scenario, if the runner retreats to 1B and you were not protecting her to 2B, she's in jeapordy should she try to advance. Similarly, should she reach 2B and, for any reason, attempt to return to 1B, she is in jeapordy, as well.

You'll find what you're looking for on Pg. 62 of the 2010 Softball Rules book.

Hope that helps!
I hope this helps you then :-). Notice the And. If a runner is protected to second and reaches second and then retreats she is still protected. Unless there has been a subsequent play on a DIFFERENT runner.
________
Asiansweetpussy

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:29pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 03:08pm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
I hope this helps you then :-). Notice the And. If a runner is protected to second and reaches second and then retreats she is still protected. Unless there has been a subsequent play on a DIFFERENT runner.
You know what? I think you're right. I don't know why, but I have misread and/or misinterpreted this for years. I stand corrected. Nice catch, YU!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 12:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by shipwreck View Post
The question should have read, "A dead ball is called if an obstructed runner is tagged out prior to reaching the base that would have been reached had there not been obstruction" true or false? It shouldn't have made any reference to between the two bases they were obstructed between Dave
Actually, the OP question is true, yours is not always true due to the exception for an intervening play.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Actually, the OP question is true, yours is not always true due to the exception for an intervening play.
I think you have that backwards. There is no case where an intervening play can allow a runner to be out before reaching the protected base. There is a case where an intervening play can allow them to be out between the bases where the obstruction occurred.
________
Herbalaire Vaporizers

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:30pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 18, 2010, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
I think you have that backwards. There is no case where an intervening play can allow a runner to be out before reaching the protected base. There is a case where an intervening play can allow them to be out between the bases where the obstruction occurred.
My bad - I'll go get more coffee now...
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 20, 2010, 06:00pm
Tex Tex is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Posts: 156
Reading too much into the statement. The statement reads "A dead ball is called" . That is all there is. Statement does not asked what the call should be.

Remember "A dead ball is called".

Answer is True.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 22, 2010, 01:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
From my reading, the OP should be true.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS question 55 IHSAref Basketball 4 Tue Oct 31, 2006 09:22am
NFHS Question 24 MrRabbit Softball 15 Thu Mar 02, 2006 10:58pm
NFHS question oppool Softball 1 Fri Jan 21, 2005 05:37pm
Question #99 NFHS RookieDude Basketball 22 Thu Nov 11, 2004 01:04pm
NFHS QUESTION #40 AND #70 roadking Basketball 8 Mon Nov 08, 2004 02:02am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1