Quote:
Originally Posted by shipwreck
The question should have read, "A dead ball is called if an obstructed runner is tagged out prior to reaching the base that would have been reached had there not been obstruction" true or false? It shouldn't have made any reference to between the two bases they were obstructed between Dave
|
Remember: an obstructed runner can NEVER be called out while between the bases where the runner was obstructed, even if you're only protecting her to the previous base. For instance, BR rounding 1st is obstructed by F3 and is tagged out while trying for 2nd base. You will rule a "dead ball" and return the BR to 1st.
As for the subsequent action play brought up earlier in this thread, if the obstructed runner has not reached any base in either direction, she is still between the bases which she was obstructed. Other playing action has no bearing on this fact. Once she touches the next and/or previous base, now she's lost that "between the bases" protection and is only granted protection to the base/bases she would have reached had their been no obstruction.