The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 02:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
You need to learn how to read the book. I'm not saying you should read it... you obviously have. you need to learn HOW to read it....etc.
I think you're over-scolding here, Mike. The treatment of the orange base as just another part of foul territory WAS the way the rule was called up until a few years ago.

Also, ASA does not do a particularly good job of stating that the safety (sic) base is just one big base for both the offense and the defense once the BR becomes a runner.

Even in the past when the orange bag was treated as dirt for "runner is ..." calls, the safety (sic) base was not directly mentioned beyond the BR rules.

The issue in the situation discussed is not whether the runner has to touch the orange bag, but whether the defense CAN use it for a live ball appeal. That is how the rule is interpreted (one big base), but please, in the ASA rule book, find a rule cite for that.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 03:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
I think you're over-scolding here, Mike. The treatment of the orange base as just another part of foul territory WAS the way the rule was called up until a few years ago.

Also, ASA does not do a particularly good job of stating that the safety (sic) base is just one big base for both the offense and the defense once the BR becomes a runner.

Even in the past when the orange bag was treated as dirt for "runner is ..." calls, the safety (sic) base was not directly mentioned beyond the BR rules.

The issue in the situation discussed is not whether the runner has to touch the orange bag, but whether the defense CAN use it for a live ball appeal. That is how the rule is interpreted (one big base), but please, in the ASA rule book, find a rule cite for that.
Tom - if I was over-scolding, I apologize. I just felt like we were all saying the same thing, while the poster kept saying he insisted on believing something else but wanted to learn. My bad if I was over the top. (Not the first time, won't be the last).

To "prove" the point in ASA, you have to look at the section regarding the field (where the rule simply called the base a double base). It's just a base - same as all the rest except for it's size ... in every respect EXCEPT where specifically noted (meaning rule 8-2).

IOW - don't make the assumption that there's a reason to treat the base halves differently except in the singular case where we are told to do so.

Interestingly I do remember getting in a rather heated discussion at a clinic, back when the orange base WAS dirt, where I and about 6 others insisted the clinician had no rules backing for his assertion that the orange base was dirt. The only resolution we ever got to that was along the lines of "Just do what you're told."
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 03:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: S.E.M.O.
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
"Just do what you're told."
I do not like this.......I like sound reasons......it's like when your parents used to say "because I said so."
__________________
Karen

"It is useful to look back and to look forward as well. Always remember, though, that now is where you are, and now is when you can make a difference." Ralph Marston

Special Olympic Athlete's Oath:
"Let me win. But if I can not win, let me be brave in the attempt."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 03:40pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
This was a lot simpler when there was just one base color to deal with.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 03:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: S.E.M.O.
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
This was a lot simpler when there was just one base color to deal with.
true statement......although I never played then.......that I remember anyway.
__________________
Karen

"It is useful to look back and to look forward as well. Always remember, though, that now is where you are, and now is when you can make a difference." Ralph Marston

Special Olympic Athlete's Oath:
"Let me win. But if I can not win, let me be brave in the attempt."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 10:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 37
Send a message via Yahoo to illiniwek8
WOW...that was a great response....except for the part where I was wrong! Dangit....I was hoping for confirmation that I was right....OOPS...at least now I have greater insight as to why I will get this call right in the future.....so the DEFENSE CAN utilize the orange bag to complete an out as described........the runner in my caseplay is OUT!!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 04:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
I think you're over-scolding here, Mike. The treatment of the orange base as just another part of foul territory WAS the way the rule was called up until a few years ago.

Also, ASA does not do a particularly good job of stating that the safety (sic) base is just one big base for both the offense and the defense once the BR becomes a runner.
Actually, it does. 2.3.H clearly states the first base is 15" X 30". Let me say that again. First base is 15" X 30". Unless a rule cites an exception as to which portion of the bag is to be used when, then and only then does it make a difference. I do NOT believe you will find any such exception outside of rule 8.2.M which is exclusive to the batter-runner. Stu should also check the last sentence of 8.2.M.6.

Quote:
Even in the past when the orange bag was treated as dirt for "runner is ..." calls, the safety (sic) base was not directly mentioned beyond the BR rules.

The issue in the situation discussed is not whether the runner has to touch the orange bag, but whether the defense CAN use it for a live ball appeal. That is how the rule is interpreted (one big base), but please, in the ASA rule book, find a rule cite for that.
See above. Why would you need a separate rule telling you about using a base when it is defined as a multicolored base of 15"X30"? That's like including a rule that states a pitch which hits the bat after hitting the batter's helmet is not a batter ball.

Rule book is big enough without constantly proving the obvious. It's like my wife calling me from the store last week to tell me what she wasn't buying!!!
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 05:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post

Stu should also check the last sentence of 8.2.M.6.
Bingo.

Quote:
It's like my wife calling me from the store last week to tell me what she wasn't buying!!!
Mine does that a lot. I always thank her.
__________________
NFHS softball, ASA FP & SP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 16, 2010, 10:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Actually, it does. 2.3.H clearly states the first base is 15" X 30"....
I'll leave your domestic conversations to between you and your wife, but this is exactly what I meant. Rule 2 defines the dimensions and placements of the components of the playing field, not the rules use of the field. To leave the clear statement that this is one big base of all purposes except BR to be inferred from the dimensions is, as I said, not clearly stating it. Apparently, it is not quite as obvious as you claim if it had to be stated clearly in the umpire clinic guide, whose intended audience is the most experienced umpires in ASA whose job is to teach other umpires. I guess they needed it to be clearly stated, not left to be inferred from the dimensions. Is it asking too much to add the statement from the clinic guide so all of us non-clinicians can read it, too? Especially since this was a change in interpretation (not change in dimension or placement)?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 16, 2010, 05:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
I'll leave your domestic conversations to between you and your wife, but this is exactly what I meant. Rule 2 defines the dimensions and placements of the components of the playing field, not the rules use of the field. To leave the clear statement that this is one big base of all purposes except BR to be inferred from the dimensions is, as I said, not clearly stating it. Apparently, it is not quite as obvious as you claim if it had to be stated clearly in the umpire clinic guide, whose intended audience is the most experienced umpires in ASA whose job is to teach other umpires. I guess they needed it to be clearly stated, not left to be inferred from the dimensions. Is it asking too much to add the statement from the clinic guide so all of us non-clinicians can read it, too? Especially since this was a change in interpretation (not change in dimension or placement)?
Okay, the base is 15" X 30". Touch the base before being put out, you are safe. Tagging a base before the runner gets there, the runner is out.

Doesn't get simpler than that. If you are an umpire, it is YOUR responsibility to read and understand the rules. I will NOT support anything which adds to the stupification of America. The only things which needs clarification is the exception to the norm and that is done in 8.2.M

It is bad enough there has to be a special piece of equipment because the coaches and players are not smart enough to respectively coach and play the position properly.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 16, 2010, 09:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Being as how the clinic guide is on the same CD with the casebook, I would think ASA wanted to make the intended audience any ASA umpire who wanted to invest $15.00 for the CD to expand their understanding of the rules, and not just clinicians.
Umpiring in an area where our ASA organization is not proactive in conducting clinics, I've found the CD to be a great help and well worth the money.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 17, 2010, 12:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Okay, the base is 15" X 30". Touch the base before being put out, you are safe. Tagging a base before the runner gets there, the runner is out.

Doesn't get simpler than that. If you are an umpire, it is YOUR responsibility to read and understand the rules. I will NOT support anything which adds to the stupification of America. The only things which needs clarification is the exception to the norm and that is done in 8.2.M

It is bad enough there has to be a special piece of equipment because the coaches and players are not smart enough to respectively coach and play the position properly.
What makes it less simple is most of this was exactly the same when the orange base was considered part of foul ground before the rule change. If it was so blindingly simple and well covered in the rule book, why does the clinician guide get more explicit? I'm not confused by this, but the OP was, and I can understand why.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 17, 2010, 06:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
What makes it less simple is most of this was exactly the same when the orange base was considered part of foul ground before the rule change. If it was so blindingly simple and well covered in the rule book, why does the clinician guide get more explicit? I'm not confused by this, but the OP was, and I can understand why.
Becasue the clinic guide is an aid for those giving a clinic, not to be taken by those receiving it. And on top of that, as quoted, was incorrect.

Remember the old D3K? It was so specific, it excluded a common scenario. Even when brought to the attention of those responsible to correct, it took two attempts to clean it up which was accomplished by reducing the specifics.

K.I.S.S.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Safety base, muffed batted ball Dakota Softball 4 Wed Jul 26, 2006 03:48pm
Safety base Gael Softball 7 Wed Mar 31, 2004 03:46am
Observations: 1st complete season with the "safety" base Dakota Softball 15 Fri Aug 08, 2003 04:16pm
first base safety base sneallyk Baseball 3 Thu Jan 02, 2003 04:14pm
u12 - Play at first, 1st baseperson steps on Safety Base zebraman55 Softball 2 Thu Jun 14, 2001 11:50am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1