The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Safety base (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/58407-safety-base.html)

illiniwek8 Mon Jun 14, 2010 11:25pm

Safety base
 
Runner on first.....batter hits line drive to second baseman who catches it and throws to first baseman who has her foot on the orange safety base.....runner gets back to the white base after the throw....but first baseman never touches the white bag at all.....is the runner safe? Can the first baseman use the orange bag for the force out?

Also.....

Ground ball hit to first.....first baseman bobbles ball....picks up ball with bare hand and then touches bag with her glove....this seemed weird to me....I know that you can't tag a runner with just the glove....is this legal? Out?

Thanks for any input in advance.

Stu Clary Mon Jun 14, 2010 11:34pm

The runner is safe.

Check ASA rule 8.

Dutch Alex Tue Jun 15, 2010 03:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Stu Clary (Post 681947)
The runner is safe.

Check ASA rule 8.

Stu,
Illiniwek had two questions.

Yes, the runner is safe when the colloured part of the safety-base is used by F1. The only exception is when there's a throw from foul-territory on the 1st base side. Then (only then), F1 has a choise using white or clooured base.

To answer the 2nd question, what difference is there in having a foot on the base and the ball in your hand (or glove) and having the ball in a hand and touching the base with the other hand. Touching the base, in (controlled) possesion of the ball that is what's required...

3afan Tue Jun 15, 2010 05:41am

this is a play on a runner already on first, not the first play on the batter-runner ... its all one base at that point, runner is out

HugoTafurst Tue Jun 15, 2010 06:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by illiniwek8 (Post 681943)
Runner on first.....batter hits line drive to second baseman who catches it and throws to first baseman who has her foot on the orange safety base.....runner gets back to the white base after the throw....but first baseman never touches the white bag at all.....is the runner safe? Can the first baseman use the orange bag for the force out?

Also.....

Ground ball hit to first.....first baseman bobbles ball....picks up ball with bare hand and then touches bag with her glove....this seemed weird to me....I know that you can't tag a runner with just the glove....is this legal? Out?

Thanks for any input in advance.

Play 1) NFHS: SAFE Both bags considered one base except for an intitial play at first) - I thought it was the same in ASA, but seems others don't, I'll have to look it up.

Play 2) It may look wierd, but it is an out (all codes)

txump81 Tue Jun 15, 2010 06:34am

:confused:Both of the previous individuals have said the exact same thing but with different calls. I am totally confused now.

Both bags considered one base---

3afan-OUT
HugoTaFurst-SAFE
:confused:

I thought the only time the colored part could be used was on the 1st play on the BR.

IRISHMAFIA Tue Jun 15, 2010 07:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by illiniwek8 (Post 681943)
Runner on first.....batter hits line drive to second baseman who catches it and throws to first baseman who has her foot on the orange safety base.....runner gets back to the white base after the throw....but first baseman never touches the white bag at all.....is the runner safe? Can the first baseman use the orange bag for the force out?

It is NOT a force out, it is a live ball appeal. The defense made the proper appeal holding the ball while touching the base. The runner is out in all rules sets of which I am aware.

Quote:


Ground ball hit to first.....first baseman bobbles ball....picks up ball with bare hand and then touches bag with her glove....this seemed weird to me....I know that you can't tag a runner with just the glove....is this legal? Out?

Thanks for any input in advance.
Can you tag the base with your foot while the ball is in the hand? What's the difference?

MD Longhorn Tue Jun 15, 2010 08:37am

Out and out.

Now, regarding sitch 2, who's going to regurgitate the extremely long hair example from 3-4 years ago?

JefferMC Tue Jun 15, 2010 09:39am

You mean the ponytail example?

MD Longhorn Tue Jun 15, 2010 09:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JefferMC (Post 681985)
You mean the ponytail example?

Yes ... the exaggerated one.

okla21fan Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 681967)
Out and out.

Now, regarding sitch 2, who's going to regurgitate the extremely long hair example from 3-4 years ago?

or a shoe lace :D

MD Longhorn Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by okla21fan (Post 681990)
or a shoe lace :D

That one too. :)

surf24 Tue Jun 15, 2010 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 681967)
Out and out.

Now, regarding sitch 2, who's going to regurgitate the extremely long hair example from 3-4 years ago?

Quote:

Originally Posted by JefferMC (Post 681985)
You mean the ponytail example?

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 681988)
Yes ... the exaggerated one.

Quote:

Originally Posted by okla21fan (Post 681990)
or a shoe lace :D

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 681994)
That one too. :)


These sound like they created quite a discussion on here.

Stu Clary Tue Jun 15, 2010 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 681961)
The defense made the proper appeal holding the ball while touching the base. The runner is out in all rules sets of which I am aware.

Even though F3 never touched the white (ie in fair territory) part of the double base and the throw did not come from foul territory? Please note: I'm not trying to argue, just to learn.

Thanks.

NCASAUmp Tue Jun 15, 2010 11:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by surf24 (Post 681997)
These sound like they created quite a discussion on here.

We're a lively bunch. :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1