The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 11:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu Clary View Post
Even though F3 never touched the white (ie in fair territory) part of the double base and the throw did not come from foul territory? Please note: I'm not trying to argue, just to learn.

Thanks.
ASA Rule 8, Section 2M

Serg
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 11:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by SergioJ View Post
ASA Rule 8, Section 2M

Serg
If you're refering to 8-2-M-5, I disagree. That rule is pretty clear: "On an errant throw pulling the defense off the white portion..."

That didn't happen according to the OP:

Quote:
Originally Posted by illiniwek8 View Post
Runner on first.....batter hits line drive to second baseman who catches it and throws to first baseman who has her foot on the orange safety base.....
With all due respect to everyone, I still have safe.
__________________
NFHS softball, ASA FP & SP
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu Clary View Post
Even though F3 never touched the white (ie in fair territory) part of the double base and the throw did not come from foul territory? Please note: I'm not trying to argue, just to learn.

Thanks.
Yep. Once the batter-runner passes the bags, it becomes one big two-tone base, either color equally valid for all purposes.
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Um, Stu ... think it through. Are you really implying that a runner trying to get to first base FROM THE DIRECTION OF SECOND has to go to the orange bag to be safe? Logically, does that make any sense to you?

The rule you keep quoting SOLELY applies to plays being made on the batter-runner heading from the plate to first. In every other situation, the bag is just one big bag for both the offense and the defense.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu Clary View Post
If you're refering to 8-2-M-5, I disagree. That rule is pretty clear: "On an errant throw pulling the defense off the white portion..."

That didn't happen according to the OP:



With all due respect to everyone, I still have safe.
The latest manual I have online is 2008, and in it this rule is number 8.3.M.7

Quote:
When tagging up on a fly ball, the white or colored portion of the base may be used.
Any time the runner can use both halves, so can the defense.
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 12:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Um, Stu ... think it through. Are you really implying that a runner trying to get to first base FROM THE DIRECTION OF SECOND has to go to the orange bag to be safe? Logically, does that make any sense to you?
No, not at all. But I'm not talking about the baserunner. I'm saying that the defensive player is off the (white) bag.
__________________
NFHS softball, ASA FP & SP
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 12:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
BTW... Here's the most recent [in]famous ponytail/shoelace post.

Force Play
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...

Last edited by JefferMC; Tue Jun 15, 2010 at 12:44pm.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by JefferMC View Post
Any time the runner can use both halves, so can the defense.
Is that a POE? A rule that I'm overlooking? Again, I'm not necessarily disagreeing, just trying to always get better.
__________________
NFHS softball, ASA FP & SP
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 12:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu Clary View Post
No, not at all. But I'm not talking about the baserunner. I'm saying that the defensive player is off the (white) bag.
The same rule that is telling you that the defensive player must use the white tells you that the offense must use the orange... while that's obviously not true in the OP. You can't insist that half of the rule applies when obviously the other half doesn't.

The safety bag is for SAFETY - for a BR coming from home and the first baseman. It's not meant as a gotcha on other plays.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 01:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 304
OK...but please cite a rule that suppoorts that.

I have been taught that the orange base is used by the batter/runner when trying the beat out a ground ball OR by the defense when the throw is coming from foul ground. I can point to specific places in the rulebook that support those two things. Otherwise, the orange/colored/foul portion of the double base is the same as dirt to me.

Maybe I'm a bonehead, but I still have safe.
__________________
NFHS softball, ASA FP & SP
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 01:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu Clary View Post
OK...but please cite a rule that suppoorts that.

I have been taught that the orange base is used by the batter/runner when trying the beat out a ground ball OR by the defense when the throw is coming from foul ground. I can point to specific places in the rulebook that support those two things. Otherwise, the orange/colored/foul portion of the double base is the same as dirt to me.

Maybe I'm a bonehead, but I still have safe.
You need to learn how to read the book. I'm not saying you should read it... you obviously have. you need to learn HOW to read it.

I'm not sure why you expect us to cite a rule that says "Don't apply rules that refer to the batter runner (8-2) to a normal runner". We're not going to be able to cite such a thing. But we keep telling you this rule applies to the batter-runner, and not the runner. I don't know what you want us to do to make you believe us.

8-2 says, "THE BATTER-RUNNER IS OUT"... then lists all the ways a batter-runner can be out. You're going to be in a heap of trouble if you try to apply rules from one section to unapplicable situations. We've told you repeatedly that this rule doesn't apply to a runner, and now you're asking for a rule citation to tell you not to apply rules from one section to a completely different situation? Next you'll want to apply 8-2-E to say a runner sliding into 2nd is out because they ran outside the running lane.

If you find anything regarding the safety base in 8-7 ("The RUNNER IS OUT"), please let us know. But you won't. The ONLY place in the rules where the orange and white sections are treated differently is in 8-2. Good luck finding something to support, "Otherwise, the orange/colored/foul portion of the double base is the same as dirt to me."

You say you just want to learn and get better, but you refuse to listen to anyone. I don't get it.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 01:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 304
Like I said, I'm a bonehead.

I see what you're saying. Thanks for the insight.
__________________
NFHS softball, ASA FP & SP
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 02:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: S.E.M.O.
Posts: 57
My take has always been that the "orange" bag is only "orange" when the batter is trying to beat out the throw. Any other time it is just one big base.



In fact, just last week in a coed game........I was playing first and a girl was on first, guy batting hits a liner right back at the pitcher who caught it and I run to 1B and catch the ball with my foot making contact with the "orange" bag just before the runner gets back to the white........I did not intentionally aim for that bag---just the base. This is a similar play as to what the OG posted -- yes?
__________________
Karen

"It is useful to look back and to look forward as well. Always remember, though, that now is where you are, and now is when you can make a difference." Ralph Marston

Special Olympic Athlete's Oath:
"Let me win. But if I can not win, let me be brave in the attempt."
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 02:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
You need to learn how to read the book. I'm not saying you should read it... you obviously have. you need to learn HOW to read it....etc.
I think you're over-scolding here, Mike. The treatment of the orange base as just another part of foul territory WAS the way the rule was called up until a few years ago.

Also, ASA does not do a particularly good job of stating that the safety (sic) base is just one big base for both the offense and the defense once the BR becomes a runner.

Even in the past when the orange bag was treated as dirt for "runner is ..." calls, the safety (sic) base was not directly mentioned beyond the BR rules.

The issue in the situation discussed is not whether the runner has to touch the orange bag, but whether the defense CAN use it for a live ball appeal. That is how the rule is interpreted (one big base), but please, in the ASA rule book, find a rule cite for that.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 03:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
I think you're over-scolding here, Mike. The treatment of the orange base as just another part of foul territory WAS the way the rule was called up until a few years ago.

Also, ASA does not do a particularly good job of stating that the safety (sic) base is just one big base for both the offense and the defense once the BR becomes a runner.

Even in the past when the orange bag was treated as dirt for "runner is ..." calls, the safety (sic) base was not directly mentioned beyond the BR rules.

The issue in the situation discussed is not whether the runner has to touch the orange bag, but whether the defense CAN use it for a live ball appeal. That is how the rule is interpreted (one big base), but please, in the ASA rule book, find a rule cite for that.
Tom - if I was over-scolding, I apologize. I just felt like we were all saying the same thing, while the poster kept saying he insisted on believing something else but wanted to learn. My bad if I was over the top. (Not the first time, won't be the last).

To "prove" the point in ASA, you have to look at the section regarding the field (where the rule simply called the base a double base). It's just a base - same as all the rest except for it's size ... in every respect EXCEPT where specifically noted (meaning rule 8-2).

IOW - don't make the assumption that there's a reason to treat the base halves differently except in the singular case where we are told to do so.

Interestingly I do remember getting in a rather heated discussion at a clinic, back when the orange base WAS dirt, where I and about 6 others insisted the clinician had no rules backing for his assertion that the orange base was dirt. The only resolution we ever got to that was along the lines of "Just do what you're told."
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Safety base, muffed batted ball Dakota Softball 4 Wed Jul 26, 2006 03:48pm
Safety base Gael Softball 7 Wed Mar 31, 2004 03:46am
Observations: 1st complete season with the "safety" base Dakota Softball 15 Fri Aug 08, 2003 04:16pm
first base safety base sneallyk Baseball 3 Thu Jan 02, 2003 04:14pm
u12 - Play at first, 1st baseperson steps on Safety Base zebraman55 Softball 2 Thu Jun 14, 2001 11:50am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1