The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 05, 2009, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
My instinct would be that R2's out is a force, and thus R1's run is nullified. But many ASA rulings are counterintuitive. Maybe R2's out is just a generic out, not a force out.

Governing all INT with TOI can create strange situations.

R1 on 3B, no outs. Batter hits a high popup to F3. R1 crosses the plate. BR rounds 1B, collides with F3, and is called out for INT. As far as I can tell, R1's run would count. (Somebody please point out why I'm wrong. I'll sleep better.) The question in the OP makes me wonder whether it would count even if the play began with 2 outs.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is inadvertant contact on a force still interference? scarolinablue Baseball 39 Wed Mar 11, 2009 02:52pm
Interference / Force Play Slide tjones1 Baseball 25 Sun Apr 20, 2008 11:25pm
Force Out rickbeauv Softball 22 Tue Jun 24, 2003 04:04pm
Force-slide play or just interference? Gre144 Baseball 1 Thu Mar 29, 2001 12:31am
Force slide play and 2 outs or just interference and umpires judgement Gre144 Baseball 5 Mon Mar 26, 2001 07:57am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1