The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 07:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
In the past in dealing with situations of controversy, ASA has tended to go with the letter of the rule. This is, if I was placing a bet, I'd bet that if ASA issued an official ruling on this, they would apply the interference rule. IMO, that would be a wrong interpretation, but it would narrowly follow the letter of the rule.

Until that eventuality, however, on the field, I would rule the OP (and my variations) to be force outs.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is inadvertant contact on a force still interference? scarolinablue Baseball 39 Wed Mar 11, 2009 02:52pm
Interference / Force Play Slide tjones1 Baseball 25 Sun Apr 20, 2008 11:25pm
Force Out rickbeauv Softball 22 Tue Jun 24, 2003 04:04pm
Force-slide play or just interference? Gre144 Baseball 1 Thu Mar 29, 2001 12:31am
Force slide play and 2 outs or just interference and umpires judgement Gre144 Baseball 5 Mon Mar 26, 2001 07:57am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1