![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Have you ever seen a missed base withouth the ball? Have you ever had USC without the ball? Have you ever had runner assistance without the ball? Have you ever..... Well, you get the point. Yes, knowing where the ball is and seeing it is usually a must. However, it is not necessary for an umpire to perform their assigned tasks. I've seen too many umpires hang their hat on the theory that nothing can happen without the ball including an ASA DEPSPVR who gigged an umpire a few years back because he buttonhooked and watched BR touch 1B instead of finding the ball in the outfield (it was 290' away). The phrase has a place in officiating, but is completely situational. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Ankiel injury - Catch/No-catch? | TxUmp | Baseball | 17 | Wed May 06, 2009 11:26pm |
batter's box? | fan | Softball | 3 | Mon Apr 24, 2006 06:44pm |
Catch or no catch(foul ball)? | illiniwek8 | Baseball | 2 | Sat Mar 25, 2006 07:16pm |
Out of batter's box | greymule | Softball | 4 | Wed Aug 11, 2004 12:16pm |
Batter in the batter's box | SC Ump | Softball | 14 | Thu Sep 04, 2003 01:24pm |