I tend to agree with Mike on this one. 8.7.T shouldn't be used as a "gotcha" in the middle of playing action to get an out. If runners were still advancing legitimately, playing action hasn't really ceased, and the F1 hasn't really gone from being a fielder to being the pitcher.
In this situation, what was called in the OP was a case of "rulebook right, ballfield wrong," IMHO.
However, now that dead ball was (incorrectly?) called, you can't advance the runner coming home, so putting her back on 3B was the right thing to do.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
|