Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi
From the way I read the OP, I am tending to agree with you in regard to the LBR. I am envisioning the ball coming into the circle(and pitcher's possession) and R2 (former BR) immediately heading to second with no pause or hesitation.
However, even though the LBR may have been wrongly applied, it appears the OC wasn't concerned about that aspect of it, but instead only concerned about the runner placement. If that is the case, and the coach isn't protesting the application of the rule, but the awarding of runners, then the play, as described, must stand.
|
LBR may or may not been correctly applied - by the description I would categorize that at worst - HTBT; however probably correct. A runner stopped at first with the ball in the circle cannot dart for 2B. Thats pretty much in black and white as all of you know- So it very well could have been correct.
This is very similar to the walk - br to 2B with R1 @ 3B and ball returned to the pitcher in the circle. Timing would be everything and there very well could be a LBR at 3B if things are not properly handled.