The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 02:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Overrun means to run beyond or past. They don't have to stay on their feet but to be entitled to the overrunning exception they do have to run past the base. Once they do that I agree with you that they can do whatever they want as long as it isn't an attempt.

If they ran to 1st and stepped on it and fell forward, I'd go with what you're saying as well, though as written a runner tripping over 1st base is liable to be put out.
being obstructed at first base negates any put out at first. but one could always try.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 03:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The 503
Posts: 785
Citation: Rule 3.14159-common sense-"When a runner falls off 1B because she was going around F3, who obstructed her, don't call her out."

Do you really think she meant to advance in the OP? Because if I see this, I will judge she did not.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 03:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
A runner tripping over falling over 1B is liable to be put out.....hmmm

Interesting.

The rule as to when a BR is liable to be put out is so very clear, I'm very suprised that this view is taken.

As the OP is written, I could probably agree with either call if you had your reasoning correct - but the reasoning or just bold face statements being pushed by some wants.

Boys and girls... even for the rule book challenged, there is a rules supplement for guidence.. RS 37



- They gotta make an attempt to advance

or

- LBR

Now if you want to call the runner out - please make a reasoning in accordance with the rules. Otherwise, the runner is safe. And as a side note, we could use a little less BS about wanting citations about things not being said and that are additionally and obviously not in the rule book.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 12:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem View Post
A runner tripping over falling over 1B is liable to be put out.....hmmm

Interesting.

The rule as to when a BR is liable to be put out is so very clear, I'm very suprised that this view is taken.

As the OP is written, I could probably agree with either call if you had your reasoning correct - but the reasoning or just bold face statements being pushed by some wants.

Boys and girls... even for the rule book challenged, there is a rules supplement for guidence.. RS 37



- They gotta make an attempt to advance

or

- LBR

Now if you want to call the runner out - please make a reasoning in accordance with the rules. Otherwise, the runner is safe. And as a side note, we could use a little less BS about wanting citations about things not being said and that are additionally and obviously not in the rule book.
RS 37 is about overrunning 1st base. If a runner doesn't overrun the base then nothing in that supplement applies. They are not entitled to the exception.
________
2SexyPussy live

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:56pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 12:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
RS 37 is about overrunning 1st base. If a runner doesn't overrun the base then nothing in that supplement applies. They are not entitled to the exception.
Forget the OP and forget OBS for a second ---

So I'm clear - your contention is that a BR running to 1B who then trips over it and who lands on the other side of it, would not be considered overrunning first base and they are then eligible to be put out... (even with no attempt to advance - just merely based on the fact they tripped over 1b instead of staying on their feet).
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS

Last edited by wadeintothem; Thu Apr 30, 2009 at 12:31am.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 12:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem View Post
Forget the OP and forget OBS for a second ---

So I'm clear - your contention is that a BR running to 1B who then trips over it and who lands on the other side of it, would not be considered overrunning first base and they are then eligible to be put out... (even with no attempt to advance - just merely based on the fact they tripped over 1b instead of staying on their feet).
My contention is that while this is technically correct, I'm sure in watching such a play unfold that I would find that runner had in fact overrun the base as part of tripping because I'm certainly never making such a call.

However, a runner who tripped on first base but did not fall past it (visualize an attempt to run right to the base and the runner falling off toward second) would be liable to be put out and I would call that runner out if tagged out just like I would someone who ran to second and fell off.

The fact that no attempt was made to second is not the determination I'm making here. The determination is if the runner overran the bag. (Which is a prerequisite of the overrunning exception. Once we determine they overran the bag, then anything that is not an attempt will keep them safe.)
________
apartments for sale Pattaya

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:56pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 09:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
The fact that no attempt was made to second is not the determination I'm making here. The determination is if the runner overran the bag. (Which is a prerequisite of the overrunning exception. Once we determine they overran the bag, then anything that is not an attempt will keep them safe.)
So a BR sliding past first, walking past first, taking one step beyond first, jogging past first would be eligible to be put out as they are not running past first?
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 11:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeastern NC
Posts: 487
B-1 hits a line drive to F-9 in a) the BR runs straight up the line and trips over the bag falling on to the ground on the RF foul line. in b) the BR takes a wide turn around the bag in order to be ready to go to second on an errant throw from F-9 but is pulling up and slowing down as she reaches 1B and trips over the bag falling into fair territory between 1B and 2B. In both cases F-9 throws the ball to F-3 who tags the runner off the base.
__________________
TCBLUE13
NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA

Softball in the Bible
"In the big-inning"

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 746
a) safe judged overrunning
b) out judged rounding the bag
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 12:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by SethPDX View Post
Citation: Rule 3.14159-common sense-"When a runner falls off 1B because she was going around F3, who obstructed her, don't call her out."

Do you really think she meant to advance in the OP? Because if I see this, I will judge she did not.
I agree with your common sense approach. I think it matches the intent of the obstruction rule. It does not match either the intent or the wording of the overrunning rule. If it happened with no obstruction, the safe call would be totally unwarranted.
________
Laurell

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:56pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 06:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
(snip) If it happened with no obstruction, the safe call would be totally unwarranted.
I may be wrong, but......
1) I think the whole point of the discussion was that the fall off the base was related to obstruction, wasn't it?

2) later
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 08:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 20
She in no way was attempting to overrun first base. Her intentions were clearly to stop on the bag. She placed one foot on the base and fell off it.

I can see both ways. Obstruction could have been called but there was plenty of base to touch.

All the "you must be an idiot" type comments show your arrogance and unwarranted ego. Just give your opinion.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 08:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Back in TX, formerly Seattle area
Posts: 1,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badamk View Post
She in no way was attempting to overrun first base. Her intentions were clearly to stop on the bag. She placed one foot on the base and fell off it.

I can see both ways. Obstruction could have been called but there was plenty of base to touch.

All the "you must be an idiot" type comments show your arrogance and unwarranted ego. Just give your opinion.
OK. In my opinion, you're an idiot.

__________________
John
An ucking fidiot
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 08:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkbjones View Post
OK. In my opinion, you're an idiot.

now that is funny.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badamk View Post
She in no way was attempting to overrun first base. Her intentions were clearly to stop on the bag. She placed one foot on the base and fell off it.

I can see both ways. Obstruction could have been called but there was plenty of base to touch.

All the "you must be an idiot" type comments show your arrogance and unwarranted ego. Just give your opinion.
"Plenty of base to touch" has no bearing on Obstruction. It is important that those of you offering opinions on rules take a few minutes and read the rules and definitions. Simply offering opinion that has absolutely no basis in rules is more akin to some idiot in the stand yelling "hands are part of the bat" than a discussion on an officiating forum.

The discussion of overrunning at least is admittedly a little ambigious as there is no case play or definition (that I could find) to use as a guide to define what exactly overrunning is --- obs is very clear so take a few moments and read up on it. Thanks.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The right call or the correct call? Nevadaref Basketball 9 Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:21am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Does one call relate to the last call? Tee Basketball 28 Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1