![]() |
|
|
|||
food for thought...
The scenario.
Bases loaded, 2 outs, and 2 strikes on a left-handed batter. Next pitch, the batter does something with the bat, plate umpire calls it a ball but it got by the catcher and the runner from 3rd scored. After he cleans the plate, batter gets back in box, catcher and pitcher ready and catcher asks pu for help as to whether the batter swung at the last pitch. BU rules a strike. He ruled her out and no run scored for failure to advance. When he presented to the head honchos in Indy, they agreed with his ruling. Really not official as it was in a discussion. Any possibility of this being ruled a timing play? My thinking is that before the appeal, a run scored. At that point in time, a ball had been called and the batter had yet to become a BR. On appeal is when she got her third strike as a result of the checked swing. So while she's standing in the batter's box, and the ball is live when she gets that news, is she entitled to run to 1B and force the defense to retire her before she gets there? ASA: 5.5.B No run shall be scored if the third out of the inning is the result of: 1. A BR being called out prior to reaching first base or any other runner forced out due to the batter becoming a BR. On an appeal play the force out is determined when the appeal is made, not when the infraction occurred. NFHS: 9.1.1 Exception: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home plate during action in which the third out is made as follows: a. by the BR before touching first base; b. by another runner being forced out: c. by the preceding runner who is declared out because of failing to touch one of the base; d. when a third out is declared on an appeal play resulting in a force out (This play takes precedence if enforcing of it would negate a score.); e. when there is more than one out declared by the umpire which terminates the half-inning (the defensive team may select the out which is to its advantage); f. when a runner crosses home plate after a preceding runner is declared the third out. NFHS item "d" above is interesting. If the batter does run and they tag her out or retire her at 1B, this does become an appeal resulting in a force out and would negate the run. If she walks away and goes into DB territory, and the defense does not throw to 1B for the force out, would the run count? Ted |
|
|||
No - because the out was still made by the BR before touching first base.
|
|
|||
Quote:
BTW, I'm not being argumentative here, I have no problem with the call. I'm just looking to cross the t's and dot the i's. My thought is the defense can't rest with just the check swing appeal. They then need to retire the [now] BR. Ted |
|
|||
Let me add a bit of a twist to this: if the pitch that the batter checked her swing on had bounced into DB territory, at that time, all runners would have been awarded 1 base.
Then when PU called "play" before the next pitch, the check swing is appealed to the BU, he says "swing", batter now has strike three. Awarded run scores or not? Batter entitled to run to 1B? Ted |
|
|||
Quote:
Second, a BR was out for the third out before reaching 1B. No runs score. Third, in the situation presented, why did the PU even ask his partner about the swing? ![]()
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
Second, the call of strike 3 and the fact that there was a dropped third strike is what made the batter a BR. But, doesn't she still need to be retired? Of the fact that she walked away from the plate, but perhaps not into DB territory, is that sufficient action to declare her out? Third, cuz it was the right thing to do? If he denied, it would have meant at least the 1 run that scored and who knows what might have happened on another pitch. Ted |
|
|||
Quote:
(The question about why did the PU even check with the BU was not completely serious... or was it? ![]()
__________________
Tom Last edited by Dakota; Sun Mar 15, 2009 at 05:41pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
In your play/this play - where the PU has cleaned the plate and all afterward, and we have a live ball, AND THEN we get F2 asking PU to check with a BU about a swing - chances are really good that my recollection is just what the PU called. Call that what you want - situational ethics or maybe short term memory issues.
__________________
Steve M |
|
|||
Quote:
I can see myself out behind SS on this play and a ball bounces in front of HP and comes up and hits the PU in the mask. So he's flinching and doesn't see the "obvious" swing by the batter who was fooled on the pitch. PU see the ball bound away call a ball and runners are advancing. I'm out there thinking "Dang, that was clearly a swing." If not asked, I certainly don't say anything to my partner [maybe after the game], and just stay in my position. But when asked becuase of F2's request, I give the strike sign. That's when all opinions break loose. ![]() Ted |
|
|||
Quote:
Mike, You're taking all the fun out of posting after several glasses of vino. ![]()
__________________
Steve M |
|
|||
Quote:
I watched an NCAA regional several years ago, with 3 umpires on the field that I knew well. In the final, in the top of the 7th with 2 outs and home team winning - and these 3 are some of the best umpires that I know - I watch a borderline inside high pitch(it was out of the strike zone), that F2 came up to grab, be balled by PU - no uncaught by F2 - B clearly went on the pitch. After sqwuaking by fans and defensive coaches, PU went to 3BU for checked swing. 3BU, and I have come to conclude correctly, judged no swing. Over numerous adult beverages, at the hotel, the question came up about that particular checked swing. Now, PU is a short pineapple of a guy who has been to any/every school you can think of and has been recognized as a top level ump at each & every level and 3BU has done a couple of NCAA nationals - those 2 umps each have a pedigree that is above 99+% of the rest of us. PU asked BU did she go. BU "He!! yes - but if you weren't ending the game on a called 3rd like that, neither was I." With a big smile "That was your mess, you suffer with it." all said while reaching for another adult beverage. Players don\'t want the game to end like that, coaches do not want the game to end like that - and we umps surely do not watn the game to end like that. The differences between this and the play we're talking about is that in the play you're talking about - it's not a game ender. On a really semi-related note, I ended an extra inning playoff game on an illegal pitch. It was absolutely the right call to make - and the only call that wuld have been acceptable. AND I had the stones to make the right call as PU. Nobody was really happy with that ending - while not relevant, it is kinda, maybe realvant.
__________________
Steve M |
|
|||
Quote:
The pitcher WAS trying to get the batter to swing at the pitch. The catcher DID try to catch the ball. If the umpire did not verbalize ball, the catcher WOULD have attempted to make a play to retire the player to end the game. The fact that an umpire was required by NCAA to check with BU, if requested, should not be a factor in an umpire being fearful of any reprisal, degradation or criticism for simply doing what they are supposed to do. I understand that they were probably just jerking each other around in a hospitality situation, but there are plenty of people who believe the assertion to be 100% true and acceptable to intentionally ignore a violation or a call so the came can end on a clean out or hit. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
My Federation | HLin NC | Football | 0 | Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:21pm |
Pet Peeves - Federation | Bob M. | Football | 16 | Sat Jul 12, 2003 10:34am |
ASA vs. Federation BOO | shipwreck | Softball | 9 | Fri Aug 09, 2002 11:56pm |
Federation Play Situations | LJ_966 | Football | 10 | Sun Aug 12, 2001 08:33pm |
proposed Federation changes | joec | Football | 5 | Thu Nov 30, 2000 12:50pm |