Thread: Federation play
View Single Post
  #53 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 14, 2009, 10:33am
ronald ronald is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 746
[QUOTE=IRISHMAFIA;588127]Say, "Oh ****" to myself.
That is what the umpire said.

I talked to my association's interpreter and the ruling was as MGK blue pointed out "that you can not advance during a dead ball".

He gave us this rulling in our clinic last Thursday based on a what if scenario he presented to the rules committee in Indiannopolis 2 years ago. He was actually involved in a play that he presented as the "what if".

The scenario.

Bases loaded, 2 outs, and 2 strikes on a left-handed batter. Next pitch, the batter does something with the bat, plate umpire calls it a ball but it got by the catcher and the runner from 3rd scored. After he cleans the plate, batter gets back in box, catcher and pitcher ready and catcher asks pu for help as to whether the batter swung at the last pitch. BU rules a strike. He ruled her out and no run scored for failure to advance. When he presented to the head honchos in Indy, they agreed with his ruling. Really not official as it was in a discussion. Best I can do guys.

After reading all the points and ideas presented, it sounds like an official ruling needs to be made.
Reply With Quote