![]() |
|
|
|||
Still havent found anything in the ASA rule book that covers this situation, but obviously we have the case play in the NFHS book that does. While it is addressed, not sure I necessarily agree with the reasoning of it. At every other base, the runner through some dumb act can put themselves back in jeapordy of being put out. Yet as soon as they legally touch all bases and home the run is "in the book" and cant be erased, no matter what act the runner may make. The only thing she can do at that point is put a succeeding runner at risk by drawing a throw, assisting etc.
It would seem to me that if for what ever reason the runner is dumb enough to backtrack across home headed back to third they would have put themselves back in jeapordy. But, I didnt make the rules and will call it by the book if this situation ever comes up. |
|
|||
Quote:
The difference between home and every other base is that after touching the first three, the runner's status is still that of "a runner"- from a definitional rules standpoint- and she is still liable to be put out. Once a runner crosses the last one, she is no longer "a runner" (pick your term- an "offensive player", an "offensive teammate" or "a person authorized to be on the field of play") and can no longer be put out (assuming no valid appeal is possible). |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
home run? | Blue19 | Baseball | 6 | Fri Jun 10, 2005 07:10pm |
Missed re-touch of a base while retreating... | Bluefoot | Softball | 6 | Thu May 27, 2004 04:23pm |
Home Run - or was it? | WestMichBlue | Softball | 11 | Thu Apr 22, 2004 11:12am |
Forced runner retreating | Bluefoot | Softball | 14 | Thu Jun 05, 2003 09:50am |
retreating toward home | David Van Milligen | Baseball | 5 | Wed Nov 29, 2000 09:49am |